Beef bourguignon

Beef, carrot, leekTasmanian trail: from passion to plate, 208pp.
by Ben Milbourne
New Holland Publishers, Auckland, 2014
Cooking on page 132

Tasmania is Australia’s smallest state and one of the country’s most thriving food paradises. In producing this cookbook, Ben Milbourne travelled the state meeting the owners, farmers, fishermen, chocolatiers and brewers whose love of fresh, locally made products have established them as purveyors of fine food.

The book showcases the various produce available in the state from beer and cider to seafood and lamb to berries and cheese. Page 32 introduced Ashgrove Dairy but had no recipe, so I moved on to 132.

Beef bourguignonBeef bourguignon

Ingredients
1 kg (2.2 lbs) casserole steak, roughly chopped into large chunks
¼ cup plain flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
¼ cup olive oil
150 g (5 oz) smoked bacon, cut into batons
8 eschalots, peeled
5 cloves garlic, crushed
2 leeks, white part sliced
2 carrots, diced
750 ml (3 cups) red wine
500 ml (2 cups) beef stock
5 sprigs thyme
1 sprig rosemary
2 bay leaves
8 button mushrooms, halved
8 chat potatoes, cut in half
¼ cup picked parsley leaves, finely chopped, for garnish

Beef and bacon Cooking beefMethod
Preheat oven to 140°C.

Toss the beef in the flour, salt and pepper. Heat the oil in a large ovenproof casserole dish. Fry the beef in small batches, adding extra oil if needed, until browned all over. Remove the beef and in the same pan, fry the bacon and set it aside.

Fry the eschalots, garlic, leeks and carrots in the oil for 5 minutes.

Deglaze the pan with the wine and simmer for 5 minutes, then add the stock, thyme, rosemary, bay leaves and the reserved beef and bacon. Cover with the lid and place the dish in the oven for 2 hours.

Remove the casserole dish from the oven and add the mushrooms and potatoes and cook for another 30 minutes. If the sauce is a little thin, leave the lid off.

Scatter over the parsley leaves just before serving.

How it played out
I made this towards the end of a pandemic lockdown when shopping opportunities were limited, so I had to improvise a bit. I had 700 grams of gravy beef in the freezer. Given there was just two of us, I decided to make half a batch with a little less beef and the full amount of bacon.

Tasmanian Trail cookbookHad 2 eschalots on hand and added 2 small red onions. Luckily I have parsley, thyme, rosemary and bay leaves in the garden, and had mushrooms and smallish red potatoes on hand.

Followed the instructions exactly and the timings were perfect. I wanted to serve over mashed potatoes, but had run out, so made steamed rice.

Verdict
Oh yum, oh yum, oh yum! Easy to make and full of flavour. My modifications worked well, which goes to show the recipe is versatile. Perfect for chilly days. And the leftovers are even better.

Cooking veggies

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Main dish, Meat, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Beef bourguignon

  1. Vicki says:

    Anything with red wine sounds yummy to me. I’m very fond of leeks too (having just made a batch of leek and potato soup last weekend). I have a superb recipe for beef in red wine too.

    Tasmania has some great fresh produce and I seem to remember going to the Food & Wine (?) festival when I was in Hobart one year. Or maybe it was the Taste of Tasmania festival although that is a recent event title I think? I can’t remember what it was called to be honest. (I’ve having a ‘senior moment’ and can’t remember anything tonight).

    With a family history in Tasmania and descended from farming folk who made their own cheese, butter and preserves, I do remember my Grandmother making superb cooked meals 3 times a day. when we stayed on the dairy farm when we were very young. Great soil on the farms on the north-west coast where she lived to be sure.

    I wrote a memoir of school holidays on my Grandmother’s farm for my old nature blog too. Not sure if you were following that (now deleted) blog back in those days when I wrote more content.

  2. CarolCooks2 says:

    This sounds delicious its one of my hubbies favourite dinners 🙂 x

  3. A good winter’s meal. I will make it next time my grandsons come over. They have huge appetites.

  4. Forestwood says:

    Indeed your timing is great as this dish is perfect for chilly nights. I was thinking I might do it in the slow cooker. Would that work?

  5. Rhonda says:

    Sounds delicious! Thanks, Peggy. This could be the antidote I need for our current miserable and overcast weather, which is such a contrast to our usual bright and sunny Autumn days.

  6. Sy S. says:

    I had already bought beef cubes today and when I got home, went over to your food blog and checked out this recipe. It is hot here in NYC, so baking is not exactly a great idea. However, I decided to make this recipe in a pot and over the stove. It came out very good! I also, I already had many of the ingredients as well. If I have to pick 10 of your best blog recipes, this would be one of them… Excellent! And next time, I would still make this recipe on my stove top.

    • leggypeggy says:

      Oh wow, Sy, I’m thrilled to know this would be in your top 10. We loved it too. Glad it worked so well on the stove top. That’s a great tip for everyone.

  7. Peggy, i have tried everything but am unable to “like” or leave a comment on Where to Next? Whassup? Oh, re; beef bourguignon, not a great fan of stews. stay well, continue…

  8. Hello, hello in this new year!
    Me hoping you are safe and living a good, bright and beautiful time 🤗💕
    Ciao
    Sid

  9. I love beef bourguignon. These seems like a great recipe.

  10. This looks and sounds absolutely delicious!

  11. tony says:

    My sort of food and looks like a really good recipe. Denise made a beef bourguignon recently. A different recipe but just as yummy. The guests loved it.

    But, we had some left over and we froze it! I usually find frozen food is fine the second time around but the beef bourguignon wasn’t. Have you ever found that?

Leave a comment