Avocado salsa

onion, capsicum, olivesThe garden of vegan, 256pp.
by Tanya Barnard and Sarah Kramer
Arsenal Pulp Press Vancouver, 2002
Cooking on page 132

This is a sequel to the 1999 book called How it all vegan! and has come to me very highly recommended. Luckily I was able to buy it secondhand at my much loved Canty’s Bookshop.

We’re not vegan, but have friends who are, and I like to cook great food that suits their lifestyle. The authors have a helpful website called GoVegan.net.

Pages 30–32 have a list of 45 useful and interesting tips to do with baking soda (I’ll be checking those out), so I moved on to page 132.

Avocado salsa

Avocado salsa

Ingredients
1/2 cooked or canned corn niblets
1/4 cup olives (your choice), chopped
1/2 small red bell pepper (capsicum), chopped
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice or apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1 avocado, diced

Corn, avocado, onion, garlic, capsicum Method
In a large bowl, combine the corn, olives, red pepper, and onion. In a small bowl, whisk together the garlic, oil, lemon juice, oregano, salt, and pepper. Pour the dressing over the salsa. Stir in the avocado just before serving. Makes approximately 2 cups.

How it played out
I made this exactly as written using lemon juice, kalamata olives and the kernels from one ear of fresh corn. I zapped the corn in the microwave for about 90 seconds. The balance of dressing to other ingredients was perfect.

The Garden of VeganVerdict
This salad is delicious and so simple to make. But the thing I like the most about this vegan cookbook is that is focuses on real ingredients, and not tablespoons of things with names I don’t recognise. No wonder it is highly recommended.

I’ve started giving away some of my cookbooks—ones that I am unlikely to use again in future—but this one isn’t going anywhere.

Travel
I’m quite a bit behind on my travel blog, but I hope to get going again this week. Here’s a post from Guinea, West Africa. When we were there last year I bought 10 avocados for $3. Bargain.

Avocado salsa

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Salad, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Avocado salsa

  1. Vicki says:

    Looks and sounds delicious. I’m all in favour of bright colourful salads and vegetable servings that appeal to the eye, just as much as the taste buds.

    I also believe in using good crockery or glassware that appeals to the eye. Looks like you’ve chosen a lovely ceramic dish in the photo above.

  2. robert henderson says:

    Looks most delicious. A salad even I can cook. I’d make it with two avocados. But my main comment is How Good Is Canty’s Bookshop?

  3. CarolCooks2 says:

    Looks delicious… I love avocados they are not very good here though I struggle to find nice ones 🙂

  4. Forestwood says:

    You could add all sorts of extras to this delicious salad. I think I might add Blanched broccoli or snowpeas or some nuts for extra protein.

Leave a comment