Silver dollar pancakes

pancake ingredientsKitchen keepsakes and more kitchen keepsakes: two cookbooks in one, 554pp.
by Bonnie Welch and Deanna White
Cookbook Resources, Highland Village Texas, 1983
Cooking on page 32

In 1983, the two authors retired from their jobs in Colorado to stay at home and raise their families. They saw this as an opportunity to collate and publish their collection of home-cooked recipes. The first book, Kitchen keepsakes, sold 25,000 copies in less than three years.

I bought this edition (their first two cookbooks combined in one volume) at one of our Lifeline Book Fairs. I’m cooking from the second book. The recipe in the first cookbook called for 5 cans of cheddar cheese soup—an ingredient that is not available in Australia.

Silver dollar pancakes

Silver dollar pancakes

Ingredients
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk
4 Tbsp. oil
2 cups flour
2 Tbsp. + 2 tsp. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. soda (baking soda/bicarbonate of soda)
1 tsp. salt

pancake batter pancakes cooking

Method
Beat egg. Add remaining ingredients in order listed and beat until just smooth. Drop by the tablespoonful onto a hot griddle, cook, and serve with butter and warmed syrup..

Makes 10–12 4-inch pancakes.

How it played out
We had three exchange students staying with us for the weekend, so it was the perfect time to make a batch of pancakes. We made these as written, weighing out the flour at 125 grams (about 4 ounces) per cup.

They cooked up beautifully, but I got 27 pancakes, so many more than the suggested yield of 10–12.

Verdict
A very nice pancake and so easy to make. Almost as good as the page-32 recipe for lemon and ricotta pancakes I posted on this blog four years ago. If I have ricotta on hand, that’s the recipe I’d make, otherwise this one will do just fine.

Kitchen keepsakes cookbook

Travel
I hope you noticed the butter dish just behind the plate of pancakes. I bought that porcelain gem, along with three spoon rests, last year when we did self-drive trips in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Finland. The dish is by Helina Tilk. I bought it, along with three spoon rests, at her shop in Old Tallinn, Estonia.

Those were the only souvenirs I bought on that trip, but I brought home loads of photos and memories, including a visit to the amazing market in Riga, Latvia.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy, Eggs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Silver dollar pancakes

  1. lmo58 says:

    Peggy, I think even I could make these! I’m not good with things that require mixing batters. I can’t even make scones!

  2. Pancakes are not an italian breakfat but I must learn to cook them 😀
    In your photo they look so smooth and delicious!
    Happy Friday
    Sid

  3. My grandchildren will probably remember me for my pancakes. I can tell the butter milk is from Aldi. I find that too much buttermilk with pan-cake mix makes the pancakes stick. I also mix in some water as well as a little salt. The hot pancakes are given squeezed lemon juice and a little sugar. Of course, golden syrup makes for perfection.

  4. YUM! What time is breakfast?

  5. Yvonne says:

    “5 cans of cheddar cheese soup” Ugh!!!!! I don’t want that recipe.

  6. Antonia says:

    I love new pancake recipes, and these look really good! I am glad you went to the 2nd book first. Not sure about cheddar cheese soup in a can. The butter dish looks very cool. 😀

Leave a comment