Frozen strawberry margarita

tequila, triple sec, lemon

Mexicali rose: authentic Mexican cooking, 160pp.
by Lori Horton
New Holland Publishers, Sydney, 2009
Cooking on page 132

This is the first of two cookbooks by Lori Horton of Mexicali Rose Restaurant in Melbourne. Her second book, Mexican authentic cooking, came out last year.

Mexicali Rose has been around for 35 years. While Horton has owned it for the last 12 years, she and her family have a long history with Mexican food and cooking.

Drinks don’t pop up often on page 32s, but this book has a margarita recipe. Oh yum! Especially because it’s red and Christmas.

strawberry margarita

Frozen strawberry margarita

Ingredients
sugar for frosting glasses
3/4 cup (180ml) gold tequila
1/2 cup (125ml) freshly squeezed lemon juice
60ml (2 fl oz) triple sec
1 cup frozen strawberries
1/4 caster sugar
8 cups ice
fresh strawberries for garnish

Method
Place enough sugar onto a saucer to cover the base to about 2mm deep. Run a lemon wedge around the rim of each margarita glass and dip each glass in the sugar to lightly coat just the rims. Set the glasses aside upright.

caster sugar, strawberries

Pour the tequila, lemon juice, triple sec, ice, strawberries and caster sugar to a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into the prepared glasses. Garnish with fresh strawberries.

Serves 4.

How it played out
I’ve been hanging out to make this recipe for holiday drinks and reckoned Christmas was the perfect time. Strawberries were luscious and on special at the markets yesterday afternoon, so I bought a pound of them for A$6. I used just under half for this recipe.

Made as written except that I don’t own a blender, so had to use the food processor, and I used regular tequila (not the gold version). Oh, and I was a tiny bit short of ice.

I don’t own proper margarita glasses, but I have some lovely dessert goblets that were fine for the job. They hold just over 5 ounces each (160ml), so the recipe made 6 drinks, rather than the suggested 4.

Verdict
Confession: I’m not a big fan of cocktails, but I’ve always enjoyed a standard margarita with a salted rim. I wondered if this sweeter version would live up to my expectations, and I can report that it did in every way.

Mexicali Rose cookbook

We all enjoyed this festive drink. It was totally delicious, colourful and perfect for Christmas Day drinks. But, trust me, you don’t have to wait for a holiday to enjoy this.

Travel
Christmas is a time for joy, as well as sadness. It’s a chance to think of those who are no longer with us, and remember happy and sad times of the past. Syria will always have a place in my heart at Christmas. Libby, our first daughter, was born in Damascus, and had her first Christmases there.

In 2009, we were lucky enough to celebrate one more Christmas in Syria—before the war began. My heart still breaks for the people of Syria. If a Syrian family should come to your community as refugees, please welcome and support them. They are good people—whether Muslim or Christian.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Beverage, Fruit and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Frozen strawberry margarita

  1. Cheers 😀
    Merry Christmas ❤
    Sid

  2. Sheryl says:

    I hope that you had a wonderful Christmas. Happy New Year!

  3. sepultura13 says:

    This is probably the only way I drink “ta kill ya,” LOL – great recipe! I add a bit of cream to my margaritas, so that they taste like a milkshake.
    I hope that you had a wonderful New Year! Looking forward to more recipes and travel photos from you in 2017.
    🙂

  4. It’s wonderful how you often slip in thoughts of kindness and humanity, as with your support for the Syrians. Very nice…

    • leggypeggy says:

      Thanks Brian. Syria is top of mind for me these days. We loved living there and found the people to be kind, generous and welcoming. When will all the heartbreak there end? I also wonder if Libby will be held up on entry when she next visits the USA. Her Australian passport shows only name the city in which she was born, but her US passport includes the country. She does not have, and does not qualify for, Syrian citizenship, even though she was born there.

  5. Pingback: Great Margarita Recipe! – MargaritaMakerNet

  6. Kathy D says:

    These really hit the spot after a long, hot day of cleaning out my mother-in-law’s condo. We came home and immediately enjoyed two glasses each of this delicious margarita. I’ve never made a margarita with lemon juice. It’s really great! Thank you for posting this refreshing cocktail recipe!

  7. Gerry - BK says:

    Yummm, Best Margarita yet Peggy. OMG so good. I love that you can taste the strawberries thru the tequila. Just wonderful, quick and super easy to make, even easier to drink.

  8. Laurel Johnson says:

    Peggy, these margaritas are wonderful! And so pretty, too. This serves 4, and my hubby and I are only 2, but we are on our second one this evening, and we’ll be finishing off the pitcher! What we both like best about this drink is the amount of fresh lemon juice in it. It is not too sweet, which is to our liking, and very, very tasty! We like salt on the rim with tequila, so I mixed the salt and sugar together, and it was so good! Thanks for a lovely cocktail hour this evening!

  9. Lynette Clay says:

    We loved this drink. So delicious and fruity. We used a little less sugar and a little more strawberries. Thank you for a great drink.

Leave a comment