Herby potato salad

chopped spring onions

My grandma’s kitchen, 81pp.
by Louise Fulton Keats and Margaret Fulton
Hardie Grant Books (Australia), Prahran, Victoria, 2011
Cooking on page 32

Louise Fulton Keats wrote this cookbook to recall the fun she had when she spent time in her grandmother’s kitchen. That’s not at all surprising when you know that her grandmother is Margaret Fulton, one of Australia’s leading recipe creators (I’ve already shared a few of her recipes on this blog).

The book covers easy-to-make recipes (perfect for kids to try) for breakfasts, lunches, afternoon teas and dinners. The younger Fulton wrote the text while the senior Fulton provided the recipes. Michelle Mackintosh drew the whimsical illustrations.

Herby potato salad

Herby potato salad

Ingredients
2 eggs
4 medium–large potatoes (desiree or similar variety)
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons white balsamic or white wine vinegar
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons finely chopped parsley
2 tablespoons finely snipped chives
2 spring onions, finely sliced
1 celery stalk, finely sliced
1/3 cup mayonnaise

Method
Hard-boil the eggs (this will take about 10 minutes) and set aside to cool.

potatoes, vinegar, scallions scallions and herbs

Boil the potatoes until tender and allow to cool before peeling the skin off with your fingers. Cut each potato into 8 pieces, place in a large bowl and season with salt and pepper to taste. Add the vinegar, oil, herbs, spring onion and celery and mix well. Leave for a few minutes to allow the dressing to absorb.

Peel and quarter the eggs. Add to the bowl with the mayonnaise and gently toss. Serve at room temperature.

Serves 4–6.

How it played out
I made this in the morning so Poor John and I could have it for lunch (it’s in the lunch chapter). I boiled the eggs yesterday (actually I steamed them). Because my potatoes varied in size I peeled and cut them before boiling so they would cook evenly. Plus I was out of celery so used 5 finely chopped green beans, fresh from a friend’s garden.

My timing was excellent for collecting the herbs from my garden. It was sprinkling rain when I went out to snip them, and bucketing down just a few minutes after I got back inside. 🙂

My Grandma's kitchen cookbook

I used white wine vinegar and my homemade mayonnaise (no added sugar). That recipe is here (scroll down).

 

Verdict
Really, really liked the addition of the herbs, especially the chives. Must remember to add them to any potato salad in future.

As much as I love my homemade mayo, I thought 1/3 cup of it overpowered the rest of the ingredients. I think 1/4 cup would be more than enough.

Oh, and green beans were fine to give it some crunch, so don’t worry if you don’t have celery.

Travel
We travel a lot and potatoes are on the menu all over the world. This was part of our first breakfast when we arrived in India for our first overland trip there.

P.S. Speaking of travel, Poor John and I are on our way tomorrow morning. We’ll have about 20 hours in two different airplanes and at least 19 hours in airports. Don’t expect to hear much from me for the next 48–60 hours.

Herby potato salad

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Side dish, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Herby potato salad

  1. I also like potato salad with less mayo – thanks for the suggestion to reduce in this recipe – looks delish! Such a great summer salad too.

  2. Ilze says:

    I should try these salads!

  3. Phyllis Gaetz says:

    You are making me hungry again! I will try it. In Canada most grammas add a teaspoon of mustard, sometimes celery seed and for sure paprika. Bob’s mom always added a little milk to the mayonnaise to make it “wetter” while I preferred without. My gramma would sprinkle her onions on top of the hot potatoes “to soften a bit” but still have the crunch. Everyone’s potatoe salad is different and that is what I love about this dish!

  4. Catnip Blog says:

    Perfect. My husband buys potatoes by the bushel and I’m always looking for ways to use them up before they sprout and I have to use a machete to get in and out of the kitchen.
    Have a safe trip home.

  5. Margaret Fulton lived near us in East Balmain, and used to comment on our outdoor barbeques. My mother’s speciality was chicken soup. Right now the weather near us is hot pea and ham soup while wearing thick socks and beanie.

    • leggypeggy says:

      That’s very impressive to have Margaret Fulton comment on your barbecues. When am I invited? 🙂 I’ll be back in thick-socks-and-beanie territory soon enough.

  6. Chives ! Such an amazing herb. This potato salad sounds great !!! I also like to ease up a bit on the mayo. Great one Peggy 🙂 Have a good weekend !

    • leggypeggy says:

      I adore chives too. Thanks for the weekend wishes, Lynne. We’re flying from Paris to Canberra—36 hours travel time. In Singapore at the moment with a long layover. Ugh!

  7. Sheryl says:

    My Grandma’s Kitchen sounds like my kind of cookbook. I’m fascinated by how food can create memories and connections that span time and cross generations.

Leave a Reply

