My breakfast bowl

tomatoes, spinach, lemon, spring onions

Feel good food, 304pp.
by Valli Little
HarpersCollinsPublisher, Sydney, 2015
Cooking on page 32

Born into a family of UK restaurateurs, Valli Little was inspired to pursue a career in the food industry.

She started with formal training at Le Cordon Bleu in London, and went on to work as a food consultant and caterer. Since 2001, she has been food director of Australia’s highly successful delicious. magazine. In that role, she creates up to 60 recipes a month that are inspired by her travels and love of food. She is a frequent guest on national radio and author of numerous bestselling cookbooks. Her main goal is to offer recipes that are imaginative, easy-to-follow and fail-safe.

Page 32 has two eggy breakfast recipes. I made the first one.

My breakfast bowl

My breakfast bowl

Ingredients
½ cup (140g) low-fat thick Greek-style yoghurt
2 tsp finely grated lemon zest
1 tbs lemon juice
2 cups (380g) cooked white quinoa
1 cup baby spinach leaves
½ cup basil leaves
2 spring onions, thinly sliced
1 avocado, halved lengthways, sliced
200g mixed cherry tomatoes, halved
4 poached eggs
1 tsp sumac

eggs, avocado, basil Yoghurt and lemon zest Cooked quinoa

Method
To make the dressing, combine the yoghurt. lemon zest and juice in a small bowl. Season and set aside.

Divide the quinoa among serving bowls, then top with spinach, basil, onion, avocado and tomato. Top each with an egg, drizzle with yoghurt dressing and sprinkle with sumac to serve.

Serves 4.

How it played out
When a recipe is so straightforward, the best thing to do is follow the instructions. So I did, except for using full-fat yoghurt.

I was able to use basil from our garden, tomatoes from a friend, and lovely fresh eggs laid by backyard chickens that belong to another friend. I had fairly good luck getting the poached eggs to turn out a little runny.

Served with lightly buttered slices of my homemade sourdough olive and rye breads.

Verdict
This is my idea of the perfect breakfast. I could eat two servings of it every day by myself, and would be tempted to sprinkle on even more sumac.

Feel good food cookbook

Quinoa adds a lovely texture, and the spinach, avocado and tomatoes give you multiple serves of fruit and veg in one hit. Feta cheese and olive lovers—yes, I am one—could even add some of both. I’d opt for kalamata olives.

By the way, I think this dish is wonderful with or without the egg, and the photo below shows how tasty and beautiful it looks egg-less.

Travel
We love trying new breakfasts on our travels. Check out the legendary start to a day we had in Cartagena, Colombia.

My breakfast bowl without egg

 

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy, Eggs, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My breakfast bowl

  1. Yummy and delicious 😀
    Ciao
    Sid

  2. That looks a very healthy breakfast. I still have to have mine and it is already 10 ‘clock. I might have it for lunch instead!

  3. I am officially hungry right now for this breakfast ! Yum Yum Yum !!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Breakfast is tops on this trip | Where to next?

  5. Akuokuo says:

    Okay. Just gained 5 lbs. from your last two posts 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

