Pavlova

castor sugar, eggs

The country show cookbook, 256pp.
from the Agricultural Societies Council of NSW
New Holland Publishers, Sydney, 2010
Cooking on page 132

This goldmine of award-winning recipes from country shows across Australia belongs to my friends, Denise and Tony. They loaned it to me after Denise made a sensational apricot yogurt cake for the monthly morning teas we have after our gym classes.

The book has six chapters covering the sorts of delicacies one sees on display at country shows (or country fairs as they are called in the USA). There are scones, cakes, pies and tarts, biscuit (cookies) and slices, pickles and relishes, and jams and spreads.

Page 32 has pictures only so I moved on to 132 and Australia’s iconic pavlova, by Wilma Bott of the Barellan Show.

Pavlova with fruit

Pavlova

Ingredients
4 egg whites
1 cup castor sugar
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cornflour

sugar, cornflour, lemon beating egg whites with sugar shaping pavlova to bake baked, cracked pavlova

Method
Preheat oven to 150°C (300°F).

Beat eggwhites until soft peaks form. Gradually add castor sugar, beating until dissolved and mixture is thick.

Add the lemon juice, sugar and cornflour and beat on low into the meringue. Place sheet of baking paper on tray and make a circle with mixture to approximately 23cm (9 in). With a spatula work around the circle lifting as you go to make ridge around the pavlova. Bake in oven for 50 minutes. Leave in oven to go cold. When ready to serve, fill with cream and fruit of your choice.

Tip
When finished baking, leave the meringue in the oven, with door ajar, to cool completely. If you remove the meringue when it’s still warm it will cool too quickly and may crack or collapse.

How it played out
True confession. I’ve lived in Australia for most of the last 35 years and this is the first time I’ve ever made a pavlova. While Australia and New Zealand disagree on which country came up with this dessert first, everyone seems to agree that it was named after the Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova.

Earlier this week, I made this as our dessert for company on Australia Day and, yes, I followed the recipe. The mixture didn’t get quite as thick/stiff as I’d hoped, but I didn’t realise that until I was spreading it on the baking pan. I’ll learn.

As suggested, I left the pav to cool in the oven, but it cracked anyway. My friend, Barb, who can make pavlovas in her sleep, says she uses vinegar instead of lemon juice. I don’t know if that makes a difference. They’re both a shot of acid.

Topped it all with whipped cream and thawed mixed berries that were rather juicier than I expected.

country show cookbook

Verdict
For a first effort, it was pretty good. The dinner guests were most complimentary, but I’ve had better and prettier pavs in the past—Barb’s are especially fine.

Most of all, I was stunned to discover just how quick and easy it is to make a pavlova. Why haven’t I been making them before? I’ll fine-tune this in time.

P.S. Hope you like my retro, pink sugar container. I have a matching set for flour, sugar, rice, tea and coffee. Each one is a different colour. I love them.

Travel
Unlike Anna Pavlova, we haven’t spent a lot of time in Russia on our travels. But we have had some memorable experiences from our brief time there—including this one.

Feel free to check out the post I added to my travel blog on Australia Day.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Eggs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pavlova

  1. elmotoo says:

    I’m stunned that you’ve never made this before! It’s the best way to use up egg whites left lonely after using yolks in custard or Bearnaise. Yummy stuff 🙂

  2. Phyllis Gaetz says:

    Sounds delicious Peggy! I haven’t had this dessert for years. I am wondering if there is a difference in the recipe when you live at a high altitude.. I am thinking salted caramel would be good on this..

  3. Rhonda says:

    YUM! I haven’t made one for ages, although I’ve been making them since I was a teenager. I use an Australian Women’s Weekly recipe, and always top it with whipped cream, strawberries and passionfruit. I like the acidity of the fruit to cut the sweetness of the pav.
    My tip for getting a pretty pav is to first spread it into a circle, then, using a butter knife, go all the way around lightly dragging the knife through the mix from the bottom to the top. It makes a pretty edge, and gives you a “lip” on the top that helps to hold the filling in when you decorate it.

  4. It’s never too late. I’ll try it out but wait for cooler weather. I barbequed some mince patties (grade 3 stars mince) yesterday but they were a bit overcooked. Helvi likes her meat a bit rare. I don’t mind it either way. The Pavlova pictures looked nice.

  5. Thanks, Peggy. I’ve never eaten or even seen a Pavlova though it’s a famous dessert. Now that I’ve seen yours, I think I’ll try it – this looks spectacular and must taste like heaven on a plate. I’m thinking it’s basically a giant meringue topped with berries? So this looks like one serving to me – yummy! – what does everyone else eat?

  6. Looks good from here Peggy and have never made a pav here in 20 years! lol lol

  7. Sheryl says:

    I’ve never had a Pavlova, but this post makes me think that I’m missing something. It sounds like a lovely dessert.

  8. Lina says:

    I love pavlova! Great recipe😊

  9. For your first effort, pavlova must have been delicious (in the image it is beautiful) 🙂
    I don’t like it very much, meringue is too “eggy” for my taste.
    Your containers are super-super-cute: I love that type of containers ❤
    Ciao
    Sid

    • leggypeggy says:

      I’m not a big fan of meringue on things like lemon meringue pie, but I do love pavlova. The fruit and cream help to cut through the eggy taste.
      I love those containers too. A friend gave them to me almost 30 years ago. I think they had been his mum’s. He was getting married and the wife-to-be wanted new things for the kitchen. Aren’t I the lucky one!

  10. chefkreso says:

    Lovely post, Pavlova looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

