Peppered chicken

Onions, peppercorns, capsicumThe complete stir-fry cookbook, 256pp.
edited by Jane Price, Family Circle Kitchens
Murdoch Books, Sydney, 2000
Cooking on page 132

This book is used regularly in my house. I bought it when it first came out and it’s been a wonderful resource.

I confess that I don’t so much follow the recipes, but instead use them as a guide for deciding on a sauce that will go with the protein and vegetables I have on hand.

After a busy day, I grabbed this book for ideas. Turns out I didn’t have enough of the ingredients for page 32, but had everything for page 132. I promise to get back to page 32 one of these days.

Peppered chicken

Peppered chicken

Ingredients
1 tablespoon oil
2 chicken breast fillets, cut into strips
2 1/2 teaspoons seasoned peppercorns
1 onion, cut into wedges
1 red capsicum (bell pepper), cut into strips
2 tablespoon oyster sauce
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar

Method
Heat a wok over high heat, add the oil and swirl to coat the base and side of the wok. Add the chicken strips and stir-fry for 2–3 minutes, or until they are browned.

Sautéing chicken and vegetables Chicken and vegetable stir-fry

Add the peppercorns and stir-fry until they are fragrant. Add the onion and capsicum and stir-fry for 2 minutes, or until the vegetables have softened slightly.

Reduce the heat and stir in the oyster sauce, soy and sugar. Toss well to thoroughly combine before serving.

How it played out
This was an empty-part-of-the-fridge recipe. I had two chicken breasts and a capsicum (bell pepper) that were near the end of life, so I got to work slicing them.

I didn’t have seasoned peppercorns, but I did have separate bottles of black, white, Szechuan (Sichuan) and green peppercorns, so it was easy enough to create my own mix.

Followed the rest of the recipe as written. Served with noodles, broccoli and a salad.

Stir-fry cookbook

Verdict
So quick and easy to make and so full of flavour. The peppercorns make this dish and we especially loved the addition of the Szechuan and green versions.

I’ll keep this handy for busy nights because I almost always have these ingredients on hand. Yummo!

Travel
We’re travelling in India at the moment—enjoying enormous quantities of spicy and memorable dishes. Wish I could take home one of the cooks. At least I’ve bought a couple of cookbooks.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, Main dish, Poultry, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peppered chicken

  1. Good recipe 🙂
    Must try it!
    Ciao
    Sid

Leave a Reply

