Oven roasted tomato, broad bean and asparagus salad

cream cheese and tomatoes

Simply heaven, 166pp.
by Kraft Kitchens
Kraft Foods Limited, South Wharf Victoria, Australia, 2009
Cooking on pages 32–33

Here’s another cookbook that friends, Ginny and Tim, gave me before they moved to Queensland. Their ‘gift’ was offered on the proviso that I would pass on the book after I cooked from it.

It’s a collection of 75 Philadelphia cream cheese recipes covering appetisers, salads, main and light meals, and desserts.

I love cream cheese although try not to eat too much of it. So let’s see how the recipe on pages 32–33 worked out.

Tomato, asparagus and cream cheese salad

Oven roasted tomato, broad bean and asparagus salad

Ingredients
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon sugar
salt and pepper, to taste
125 g cream cheese, broken into 2cm pieces
125 g mini roma tomatoes, halved
250 g frozen broad beans, blanched and peeled
2 bunches asparagus, blanched
1/2 cup fresh peas, blanched

mustard and white wine vinegar

Method
Whisk together the vinegar, oil, mustard, sugar and seasonings to form a dressing. Place the cream cheese and tomatoes on a lined baking tray. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons of dressing.

Bake in a moderate oven 180°C for 15–20 minutes or until cream cheese is golden and tomatoes are slightly shrivelled. Cool.

Arrange the broad beans, asparagus and peas on a serving platter. Top with the cream cheese and tomatoes, drizzle with remaining dressing. Serve immediately.

Tip: Substitute with fresh broad beans if available.

broad bean, tomato and cheese salad

How it played out
Pretty much followed the recipe. Made the dressing first using a scant 1/4 cup of oil and all other ingredients as stated.

I had frozen peas and broad beans on hand. By the time they thawed it was obvious that I didn’t need to blanch them. Didn’t have to peel the broad beans either because they came peeled and split.

So this is how I managed the cooking. I baked the cheese and cherry tomatoes as stated. I popped the asparagus (16 spears) in the microwave for 2 minutes and then added the peas and broad beans, and gave the dish another 40 seconds in the microwave. Those timings were perfect.

Simply Heaven cookbook

Verdict
Absolutely delicious and so beautiful on the plate. I’m going straight out to buy more ingredients so I can make it again soon. The balance of flavours in the dressing is perfect.

I’m sure this would serve four, but Poor John and I polished most of it off as a side dish to a crustless quiche.

Travel
Asparagus is an important export crop in Peru. We couldn’t find much of it when we were there, but we did find some wonderful food in the village of Pisaq.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, Salad, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oven roasted tomato, broad bean and asparagus salad

  1. Asparagus time is over here, it’s too hot and dry. But I’ll save this recipe for the next season when I can buy different native asparagus, i.e. white, wild green, common green, pink and purple 🙂
    Yummy ❤
    Ciao
    Sid

  2. Sheryl says:

    This sounds wonderful and easy to make. I use cream cheese on bagels and to make cheese cakes. I never would have thought of serving it this way.

  3. Yvonne says:

    Right, that’s lunch taken care of tomorrow!

  4. Antonia says:

    Lovely meal! I love healthy and delicious dishes!

  5. This sounds nice, nicer than when I looked at this book, some time ago. It might still be in hiding in the dark recesses of my recipe book cupboard! do you think it might be nice with Halloumi cheese instead of cream cheese ( cream cheese is great but doesn’t like me too much!!) And I think the dressing sound devine!

Leave a Reply

