Sliced fish with ginger sauce (yue pin geury jup)

sauce, marinade ingredients

The commonsense Indonesian and Malaysian cookery book, 124pp.
by Ella Mei Wong
Angus and Robertson Publishers, Sydney, 1978
Cooking on page 32

Until I started to write this post, I hadn’t realised that this book is part of a series of commonsense cookery books. There’s a general edition, as well as Indian, Greek, International and Chinese versions, with the latter also written by Ella Mei Wong.

I’ve never seen any of the others on my expeditions through second-hand bookstores, but I’ll be on the lookout in future.

As far as I can tell, Wong has written about 10 cookbooks with most focusing on Chinese food. She has been a noted teacher of Chinese and Southeast Asia cooking, and is well-known in the Far East for her television programs on food and home economics.

I can’t remember when or where I bought this book, but $6.50 is written in pencil on the inside front page.

Page 32 is in the chapter on fish and has two Indonesian recipes.

Sliced fish with ginger

Sliced fish with ginger sauce (yue pin geury jup)

Ingredients
kg (2 lb) fillet of fish (rock cod, jewfish, flake, king)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon ginger oil (see below)

Ginger oil
1 teaspoon green ginger, minced
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon salt

Ginger sauce
4 tablespoons green ginger, minced
2 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons Chinese vinegar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup fish stock
1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 medium onion, chopped
1 tablespoon cornflour (cornstarch)

marinating fish and ginger fish in cornflour

Method
Cut the fish into pieces 5cm x 1 cm (2 in x 1/2 in). Sprinkle with salt and mix with the sesame oil and ginger oil.

Roll each slice in cornflour.

Heat wok, add oil and when hot, fry the fish slices until golden brown. Drain on absorbent paper.

To make ginger sauce, mix ginger, sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, salt and stock together in a saucepan and simmer for 5 minutes.

Add mushrooms and onions and cook until tender, for approximately 5 minutes.

Stir in the cornflour blended with water and cook until the sauce thickens.

Pour immediately over the fish slices.

Serves 6.

How it played out
Yesterday at the markets, I found John Dory (one of my favourite types of fish) on special for $15 a kilo, so that helped me decide what to make for dinner.

mezzaluna, ginger and ginger oil

IMG_8350

I made the ginger oil first, so I could marinate the fish. Very sensibly, I recruited Poor John to mince the ginger with the mezzaluna. It’s a wonderful gadget that gets used regularly in my kitchen. Poor John is almost always the ‘driver’.

To marinate the fish, I used ALL the ginger oil. Seemed silly to use just a teaspoon when the whole batch was only 4 teaspoons. Also used two teaspoons of sesame oil because it is a flavour I adore.

The only other changes were that I cut the fish in slightly larger pieces—about 2 inches by 1 inch. I also needed an extra 2 tablespoons of cornflour to coat all the fish pieces.

The fish fried up beautifully, and I made and cooked the sauce as written. I was pleased to get portobello mushrooms on special at the market.

Served with broccoli and a mixed green salad.

Indonesian Malaysian cookbook

Verdict
Oh wow, what a great way to fry fish. The cornflour was just enough to give the pieces a bit of crunch and the sauce and marinade were both packed with flavour.

Petra said Mum this is the very best new dish you’ve made in ages. Given that I make a couple of new dishes a week, that a huge compliment for this recipe.

We made piggies of ourselves. Even though it’s supposed to serve six, both Poor John and Petra went back for seconds, and then there were only enough leftovers to send a container home with Petra to have for lunch.

Travel
While I can recommend many delicious Indonesian dishes, I can’t recommend their ‘executive’ bus services. If you have a moment, check out the hot, steamy and kinky bus ride we had across the island of Sumatra.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Fish and seafood, Main dish, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sliced fish with ginger sauce (yue pin geury jup)

  1. Sounds wonderful and healthy indeed Peggy! Great buy re the John Dory!

  2. Robert Henderson says:

    I didn’t realise the Commonsense Cookbook had branched out into exotics areas. It’s a staple and the instruction book for the NSW Home Economics studies at school, ie teaching housewives to be how to cook. This looks like a great recipe. I’ll have to show you my Ginger grater, made of bamboo and a fantastic device.

    • leggypeggy says:

      It’s not from what we know as the Australian commonsense cookbooks. I think this series originated in the UK. Have never seen any of the other volumes. Would love to see your ginger grater. Where did you get it?

  3. blondieaka says:

    Wow sounds amazing love ginger….have reblogged 🙂

  4. blondieaka says:

    Reblogged this on Retired? No one told me! and commented:
    I have a lot of ginger so this will be a defo for new dish to try this week and we love fish…Thank you Peggy

  5. Sy S. says:

    It is typical of me to take a basic recipe and add my two cents… and come up with a extra special recipe to my liking. This is a very good basic recipe and I am sure very tasty. However my version, I used Cod Fish and Shrimp, Italian sliced mushrooms (not salty in a brine), few onions and placed on slightly sauteed bed of Bean Sprouts! The tasty fish & shrimp, mushrooms and crunchy bean sprouts made for a great dish… and some white rice on the side.

    Here is a ‘high five” to Peggy for a great posted recipe and a second ‘high five’ for Petra recommending this recipe as one of her mother’s better dishes in a while.

    Sy

    • leggypeggy says:

      Oh Sy, I can always count on you to use my recipes as a springboard for your own wonderful creations. This sounds great and Petra and I are returning a ‘high five’ to you.

Leave a Reply

