Cream cheese with wasabi

cream cheese with wasabi wasabi paste on cream cheese

Izakaya, 236pp.
by Hideo Dekura
New Holland Publishers, Sydney, 2015
Cooking on page 32

Since 2003, we’ve been lucky enough to host three Japanese exchange students—Asami, Yuri and Yumi. Asami was the cook among them. Before coming to Australia to attend high school, she worked in a sushi restaurant in Japan, and we’ve enjoyed her efforts on many occasions.

While I don’t cook Japanese food very often, I do love the flavours. This cookbook is a goldmine of recipes that might be served at Izakaya restaurants, Japan’s answer to informal gastropubs.

Hideo Dekura runs the cooking studio, Culinary Studio Dekura, He is known as an expert in all aspects of Japanese cuisine. About 10 years ago, the Japanese government awarded him for his contribution to Japanese food and cooking.

Page 32 has recipes for five dips, four of them based on cream cheese.

Cream cheese and wasabi

Cream cheese with wasabi

Ingredients
50g (1 3/4 oz) cream cheese
10g (1/3 oz) wasabi paste

Method
Spread wasabi over cream cheese. Rest for more than one hour before serving.

Izakaya cookbook

How it played out
I made this exactly as written, using wasabi paste from a tube—very handy to have in the fridge. My spreading wasn’t very glamorous, but it was just for Poor John and me. Served with crackers.

Two other options on the same page were dips with cream cheese with bainiku (pickled plum puree) and cream cheese with miso. The amounts and method are the same as the wasabi version, so you three recipes in one. The two other options were using cream cheese and sardines, and avocado and tofu.

Verdict
Delicious, and what could be easier! I really like the idea to coat a cube of cream cheese with another bold flavour. Yum!

Travel
I haven’t yet visited Japan, but it’s on our to-do list. I’d especially like to visit their markets. If you love markets as much as I do, check out our visit to a market in Bhutan.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Appetiser, Cheese, Sauces and condiments, Snack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cream cheese with wasabi

  1. Wili says:

    It seems so simple. But what kind creame cheese needs it.

  2. Gary Walker says:

    That sounds delicious. Yes, please! What’s not to love? Cream cheese with jalapeno jam has been a family favorite of mine for as long as I can remember. The cream cheese/anchovy version is something I’ve never thought of. I need some of that on a cracker right now!

  3. Some years ago and still living in Sydney’s Balmain we too had foreign students living with us including two Japanese girls. They used an electric rice cooker! I taught them to cook rice on the stove by normal boiling. It is fairly simple. There I was thinking they would teach me to cook rice.

    I love anything with wasabi.

    • leggypeggy says:

      Yep, I love wasabi too. Too funny about you teaching the girls to cook rice. I learned my easy boil-on-the-stovetop rice from a friend who learned from a Japanese chef.

  4. I don’t like wasabi, but the-other-half-of-my-world adore it: with cheese, a good idea for a simple dinner in a super-hot summer evening 🙂
    Thank you for sharing!
    Ciao
    Sid

  5. Laurie says:

    So easy! I’ll have to make this at my next families get together.

  6. Pingback: Miso soup with sesame and tofu | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

