Mike’s beef and red wine pies

meat pie innards

Raising more dough, 76pp.
by various contributors
LJ Hooker, Australia, 2007
Cooking on pages 32–33

Even though this cookbook was produced in Australia, I bought it a few years ago at a charity shop in New Zealand.

It’s the second fundraiser LJ Hooker, a real estate company, has produced in support of Cystic Fibrosis Australia, with the first, Raising dough, coming out in 2002.

I had to buy the book just for the recipe on pages 32–33. It was contributed by Mike Hussey, who is more often referred to as Mr Cricket. Hussey is one of Australia’s most valued and popular cricket players.

You may know from other page-32 recipes, such as one for double-rich chocolate chip cookies, that I’m married to a cricket tragic and mother to another.

So let’s see whether Mr Cricket is equally talented in the kitchen.

Mike Hussey's beef and red wine pie

Mike’s beef and red wine pies

Ingredients
1kg of sirloin or fillet steaks (cut into small chunks)
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cloves garlic chopped
1 1/2 cups red wine
2 1/2 cups beef stock
a few sprigs of thyme
sea salt and black pepper
12 small potatoes chopped up
1 1/2 tablespoons cornflour (cornstarhch)
3 tablespoons water
4 sheets puff pastry
1 egg lightly beaten

wine, stock, thyme, garlic meat pie mixture meat pies ready for oven

Method
Cook half the meat in half the oil in large saucepan over high heat for 4–5 minutes. Remove from pan. Add remaining oil and meat, brown and remove from pan.

Return all meat back in the pan with wine, stock, thyme, salt and pepper. Cover and bring to the boil, simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove lid, simmer for 15 minutes then add potatoes and cook until tender.

Mix cornflour and water into a smooth paste, add to the meat and boil until it bubbles and thickens. Cool slightly.

Place mixture in 4 x 2-cup oven-proof dishes. Place cut out pastry on top of dishes. Brush with egg and make a small slit in the top.

Bake in an oven preheated to 180°C for approximately 20 minutes or until golden.

Enjoy with steamed vegetables and a glass of wine. Serves 4.

How it played out
I made this exactly as written. So much so that a few months ago, I bought four 2-cup ceramic dishes just so I could make this recipe.

By the way, in keeping with the view that you need to cook with a wine that you’d drink, I used a lovely red wine from the Margaret River area in Western Australia. I’m a member of Naked Wines, a company that supports new wine makers in Australia. Check them out if you are in Australia.

Raising More Dough cookbook

Verdict
Obviously Mike can cook as well as play cricket. He’s offered up an easy-to-make and delicious recipe.

My only change would be to increase the sauce ingredients by about half. I’m used to pies with a decent amount of gravy and this one was a little dry for my tastes. I also added the instruction to bake the pies in a pre-heated oven. That was missing from the original.

The other thing I need to do is make a donation to Cystic Fibrosis Australia. I bought the cookbook for $1 so they missed out on my contribution.

Travel
We’ve been to New Zealand (where I bought this cookbook) three times, but I’ve not yet written about any of those visits. Luckily, I have written about some of my amazing Kiwi travelling companions, including Lu, who was our trip guide the first time we travelled across Central Asia.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Main dish, Meat, Pastry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mike’s beef and red wine pies

  1. Laurie says:

    We’re having almost summer weather here in California so I’m going to save this recipe for cooler weather. In the meantime, I’ll start searching for 2 cup oven proof dishes. I love the look of yours.

  2. Okay, you have my attention Peggy ! These pies look and sound AMAZING !!!!! 🙂

  3. Sy.S says:

    Here I go again, flipping the coin and making this dish to my liking… I used lamb meat and Marsala wine. That is I had four shoulder lamb chop and cut up the meat…. and used only
    a small amount of wine. I also added a small cut up carrot and some button mushrooms.
    I also made my own dough.. what was challenge since I don’t bake. And made sure I had plenty of gravy in the pan. The last step in the instructions does not say bake or use a broiled (top element) to finish off the dish. But using an egg, I had a good golden crust. The nice part was the dough was crisp on top and doughy on the inside, which made for some nice dunking into the gravy. Unfortunately with so much gravy, and stock and wine, I hardly tasted the lamb. However, a nice presentation dish to make for company, perhaps using beef cubes.

    • leggypeggy says:

      Sy, I’m glad I can count on you to make a recipe to your liking. Everybody should do that because recipes are only a guide. And good on you for adding some extra veg and making your own dough.

Leave a Reply

