Amanda’s chunky eggs

tomatoes and brie

My prairie cookbook, 208pp.
by Melissa Gilbert
Stewart, Tabori and Chang, New York, 2014
Cooking on pages 32–33

I’ve never really watched Little House on the Prairie. Of course, I knew of it, and I think my younger sisters were fond of watching it. When it first screened in 1974, I was in my 20s and working full-time on a daily newspaper. Two years later I was off to Egypt to do my masters degree at the University of Cairo.

But my never-ending search for page-32 recipes turned up this gem by Melissa Gilbert who played Laura Ingalls on the show for nine years. The book is a mix of memoir, photo album and home-style recipes. The casserole chapter begins with Gilbert’s list of her top ten favourite episodes.

Today’s recipe is in the breakfast chapter.

Amanda's chunky eggs

Amanda’s chunky eggs

Ingredients
8 large eggs
1 cup (240 ml) milk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 wedge Brie cheese (6 to 8 ounces/170 to 225g), cut into chunks
1 large ripe heirloom tomato (one of those big ugly ones), sliced
salt and freshly ground black pepper

butter, eggs, milk cooking eggs with brie

Method
Beat the eggs and milk into submission in a large bowl.

Heat the butter in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Add the egg mixture and cook, stirring. As it begins to set, add half of the cheese and continue to cook and stir. Remove from the heat when the eggs are fluffy but not dry.

Add the remaining cheese to the hot eggs and quickly stir for a moment. Place 1 or 2 slices of tomato on each plate and top with the chunky eggs. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 4.

How it played out
Poor John is an early riser, so I have to warn him the night before NOT to eat breakfast before I appear. He doesn’t always remember, but he did on Saturday so I treated him to this breakfast gem.

Because there were just the two of us, I made half a batch according to the recipe. Notice the amazing colour of those eggs. They are from a friend’s chickens. Couldn’t find a large ugly heirloom tomato, so had to settle for a big handful of cute heirloom cherry tomatoes. My Prairie CookbookServed it with my homemade sourdough rye bread.

Verdict
A delicious breakfast. The brie was an especially good addition and we liked the way it sort of half-melted into the dish. I’d quite happily have this any day for breakfast, lunch or a light dinner.

Travel
If you love butter, check out my post on the lashings of it that get dished up in India.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Light meal, lunch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Amanda’s chunky eggs

  1. Yummi, super-breakfast 😛
    Little House on the Prairie… OhMyTV! My mother is a terrific fan (can I say terrific?) of this serial: whenever it is transmitted she is in front of the set!
    Ciao
    Sid

  2. I had no idea that Melissa Gilbert (known as “Half-Pint” by fans of “Little House”) worked on a cookbook, but I do know that I had something of crush on Michael Landon, who played “Pa”. I realize this confession has nothing to do with recipes, but sometimes I overshare… 😉

Leave a Reply

