Fudge pie

chocolate and eggs beating eggs

Theta tales of cooking
by the Omaha alumnae
Kappa Alpha Theta Omaha alumnae, date unknown
Cooking on page 95 (a rogue page explained below)

My mother belonged to the Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. She joined at Purdue University in the 1940s and for much of her life she was part of the alumnae chapter in Omaha Nebraska.

This cookbook belongs to my sister, Jane, and when I visited her I searched for something on page 32. Actually I was hoping to find one of mum’s recipes there as I did (a brownie recipe) a few years ago at another sister’s, Susan.

But in this book, my mum’s recipe was on page 35 and was one of the most hated dishes from my childhood—a baked chop suey. What makes it worse is that I know that at least three ingredients are missing from this printed recipe. Mom had a habit of forgetting to mention ingredients or steps when she shared recipes.

So I flipped on and found a recipe for fudge pie on page 95 (that’s 32 x 3–1). I figured that was close enough to being a page 32, and the best thing is that it‘s a recipe from Mrs. Warren Buffett. Yes, yes, that Warren Buffett. He’s from Omaha and I had no idea his first wife was a Theta.

I had to share, and here it is.

fudge pie

Fudge pie

Ingredients and method
Blend together:
1 stick (4 ounces) melted butter
1 cup sugar
beat in 2 eggs, one at a time

Add in and mix well:
1 square (1 ounce) melted chocolate
1/2 cup sifted flour
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup pecans

baked dessert

Pour into well greased 9-inch pie plate (glass} and bake at 325°F for 25 minutes. When cool serve like pie ala mode. Serves 8.

How it played out
When a Buffett is in charge, I guess you do what they say. So I followed the instructions as written.

I wasn’t really sure what ‘serve like pie ala mode’ meant, but assumed it referred to adding a topping of ice cream. We added small scoops of double chocolate ice cream and lemon sorbet. A perfect combination.

theta cooking

Verdict
We all loved the flavour of this easy-to-make dessert, but the filling was super runny. By the next day, the leftover pie had cooled completely and the consistency was about perfect. So if you want a firmer result, you should make this a day in advance—or add more flour.

I’m sure to make this again, if only to say whose recipe it is. 🙂 Oh yeah, and it’s delicious and easy-to-make. No brainer.

P.S. I forgot to note the number of pages in the book, so instead have a look at the Indian ‘sugar bomb‘ dessert we had in India.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fudge pie

  1. Oh my goodness this sounds yummy…my kind of dessert. I wonder if I will be able to wait until the next day to eat it !!!! You talk about discipline 🙂 Have a lovely weekend Peggy. x

    • leggypeggy says:

      Thanks Lynne. I’m surprised there was any leftover for the next day, but the fact there was let me comment on letting it sit for a day. I mean, you’d only let it sit if you were making it for company, and maybe it’s enough to make it in the morning and eat it after dinner. Either way, it’s delicious.

  2. Easy recipe: yummi ❤
    I have all Ingredients home I'll try it 🙂
    Ciao
    Sid

  3. Since I saw this post I cast away my low carb diet idea 😉

  4. marymtf says:

    Okay, I’ll bite. Why Poor John? You do seem to travel a lot, lucky lady.

  5. leggypeggy says:

    Sorry to make you have to bite. Here’s a bit of history about Poor John. https://leggypeggy.com/2011/06/24/how-john-got-poor/

  6. I need this in my life. How soon can you get here? 😉

Leave a Reply

