Fish omelette with hoisin sauce

fish omelet ingredients

Dinner with the fishwife, 192pp.
by Rachel McGlashan
New Holland Publishers, Sydney, 2010
Cooking on page 32­–33

Don’t be fooled. I may seem to cook fish confidently, but coming from Nebraska, I really have no homegrown experience. That’s why I buy books that will help me to produce recipes using an ingredient I love—namely fish.

I had to laugh when I got to page 32 in this cookbook. The title specifically says ‘dinner with the fishwife’ but page 32 is included as a breakfast dish, or perhaps a Sunday dinner option. I made it for breakfast.

fish omelet with hoisin sauce

Fish omelette with hoisin sauce

Ingredients
5 eggs
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon peanut oil
100g preserved fish or 100g fresh fish, grilled lightly and flaked
1/4 capsicum (bell pepper), finely diced
1 spring onion, finely slice
1/4 cup coriander (cilantro), finely chopped
hoisin sauce

eggs cooking fish cooking omelet fish omelet in pan

Method
Whisk the eggs and water together in a bowl. Heat the oil over a medium–high heat in a small frypan. Add the egg mix, tilting pan to ensure mix covers the bottom and sides of pan. Keep lifting the edge as the omelette cooks. This will allow the still ‘runny’ egg to run underneath and cook. Cook until nearly set, then top with fish, capsicum, spring onion and coriander.

When omelette is set, fold over and slide onto a plate. Drizzle with hoisin sauce and serve.

Serves 1.

Tip: If you are going to leave the omelette whole and not flip it over, give it a minute or two under a grill.

How it played out
For heaven’s sake, who but a lumberjack would make an omelet for one using 5 eggs? I mean, how could you justify that many eggs for any meal of the day or even for a whole day?

So I made this with 3 small eggs given to me by a friend who keeps chickens in his backyard. I halved the water, oil and fish (which I grilled and flaked), and used the full amount of the remaining ingredients.

Obviously, I didn’t use enough oil to create an omelet that could be folded over OR slid onto a plate. So I shovelled it out with a spatula and enjoyed a rather mangled looking omelet (not photographed) with a good drizzle of hoisin sauce. The photographed version is before sprinkling on the fresh coriander (cilantro).

Dinner with the Fishwife

Verdict
A very nice breakfast dish and oh-so easy to make. However, as much as I like savoury flavours and fish (even for breakfast), I think this particular dish would work better for lunch or dinner on a lazy night.

But please resist using 5 eggs unless you’re making a dish for two. 🙂

Travel
If you love fish and fishing, you should check out the fishermen we watched on a lake in India.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Fish and seafood, Light meal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fish omelette with hoisin sauce

  1. Fish for breakfast… all right, let’s speak about that: a typical lumberjack, energetic way to eat at 5 o’clock in the morning, in the north, amongst the icebergs.
    But here, in the south, under the warm spring sun… coffee, milk, tea, bread, marmalade and, what else?… ah, yes!… cappuccino 😀
    We usually cook omelette with eggs, a spoon parmiggiano, pepper and salt, in a little pan with a tea-spoon butter but I will try with water and oil 😛
    Ciao
    Sid

  2. This sounds good !!! yum 🙂

  3. Sy S. says:

    For me once in a while it is Kippers (smoked fish, comes in a small flat oblong tin), a little onion and eggs scrambled!

  4. Sheryl says:

    I’m nice to learn that I’m not the only person who has difficulty getting a perfect omelet- my omelets also often turn out looking a bit mangled. 🙂

    • leggypeggy says:

      Sheryl, my omelets are almost always mangled disasters. I blame my lack of a proper omelet pan, but the problem may have something to do with the ‘handler’. 🙂

Leave a Reply

