Avocado, tomato and feta toast

bread, tomato, feta, avocado olive bread, avocado, tomato, feta

Rilka’s feasts, 335pp.
by Rilka Warbanoff
HarpersCollinsPublishers, Sydney, 2012
Cooking on page 32

Having discovered this book in the library, I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t live in the Australian state of Victoria. A few years back, Rilka Warbanoff was known and loved across the state for her weekly radio segments on food. She shared recipes and culinary culture from her Eastern European background.

This book is memoir and a collection of recipes, many of which came form her Bulgarian mother and grandmother.

Today Warbanoff runs her own business, wheat, gluten and yeast-free bakery, in South Australia. She also runs cooking classes that focus on gluten and sugar-free recipes.

Poor John has family in South Australia. While we don’t have issues with gluten, I might have to sign up for a class next time we’re there.

Avocado, tomato, feta toast

Avocado, tomato and feta toast

Ingredients
4 ripe avocados, peeled and finely chopped
2 ripe tomatoes, diced
200 g feta cheese
salt
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 loaf of olive bread, sliced

tomato, avocado, feta

Method
Place the avocado and tomato in a bowl, Crumble in the feta, season with salt and drizzle with the olive oil until all the ingredients are well coated.

Toast the olive bread and brush with a little olive oil. Place 2 slices of bread on each plate (serves 4) and top with the avocado, tomato and feta mixture.

How it played out
Lately avocados have cost a bomb—$3.99 each. So I made this for just me for lunch. I used half an avocado (saved the other half for dinner), half a tomato, 50 grams of feta, a dribble of olive oil and a slice of my homemade olive bread.

Rilka's Feast cookbook

Verdict
If I’m going to spend $3.99 on an avocado, at least I put it to very good use. Recipes don’t get much easier than this, or more delicious.

Check out the travel
We’ve been on the move again—visiting Alaska, Washington State, Cuba and South America. Come see some of what we’ve been doing.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Fruit, Light meal, lunch, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Avocado, tomato and feta toast

  1. It’s a sort of Greek salad: instead of avocado there are cucumbers (whose price is cheaper!). Yummi 😛
    Olive bread: I do adore it ❤
    Ciao
    Sid

  2. Antonia says:

    Love this! All my favorite things 😀

  3. I love this! looks tremendous!

  4. Sheryl says:

    This looks wonderful. Whew, avocados are pricey in Australia. Of course the seasons are totally different between where you live and where I live, but I think I paid $1 US for the last avocado that I purchased.

  5. Simple and delicious! 🙂

  6. Debbwl says:

    This was wonderful! Like you Peggy, I cut back to a single serving, could not get olive loaf so just used a good bakery loaf. I do egg, tomato and avocado for breakfast all the time so found the use of Feta Cheese a really delightful change. Thanks for the post.

  7. sofieatoast says:

    I loved this combo for breakfast! I made as a single serving too and added just a dash of garlic powder. The feta here was wonderful!

  8. Kathy D says:

    This was a winner! We had this nutritious and very delicious treat for our breakfast this morning. Great flavor combinations and super easy to make. I just used regular bread for toasting. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

