Corn salad

Corn and parsley

The frugal gourmet whole family cookbook, 393pp.
by Jeff Smith
William Morrow and Company, New York, 1992
Cooking on page 132

The frugal gourmet brought simple and hearty recipes to many Americans. Smith launched his TV cooking career in 1973 in Tacoma Washington. In 1983, he moved to Chicago and started a 14-year stint as the frugal gourmet with the PBS (Public Broadcasting Service).

In this role, Smith presented 261 TV episodes and 10 cookbooks. His TV career ended abruptly in the later 1990s when seven men accused him of sexual assault. No criminal charges were laid and Smith’s insurers settled the cases for an undisclosed amount in 1998.

I found this useful cookbook on the shelf of a dear friend in Dallas, Texas. Thanks Potsie for sharing!

Page 32 has a description of Smith’s dream kitchen, so I had to move on to the simple recipe on page 132.

Corn salad

Corn salad

Ingredients
3 10-ounce boxes frozen corn kernels, thawed
1/2 cup chopped parsley
2 bunches scallions, sliced
1/2 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Corn, parsley and spring onion

Method
Blanch the thawed corn in boiling water for 1 minute and drain well. Rinse quickly in cold water to stop the cooking and drain well again. Combine the parsley and scallions. Mix the remaining ingredients together and toss with the corn. Serve right away or chilled.

How it played out
Why use frozen corn when you have fresh on hand? I cut the kernels off four small ears of corn, and made a half a batch.

Whole Family Cookbook

I love dressing, but always try to cut back on oil. So I used the full amount of lemon juice and white wine vinegar and cut the oil in half.

Verdict
The result was a delicious, crunchy salad that went well with small eye fillet steaks and some homegrown cherry tomatoes. You can bet I’ll make this again.

Travel
Poor John and I are travelling at the moment—been to Alaska and tomorrow heading to Cuba. Take a moment and come on over to visit my travel blog.

 

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Salad, Side dish, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Corn salad

  1. Anything frugal is good enough for me. The meal looks delicious and healthy. Enjoy Cuba.

  2. Laurie says:

    This looks wonderful. I’ll wait impatiently for corn season.

  3. This looks really nice. We are having people around for a braai (barbeque) in a couple weeks and your corn salad is going be great, such a nice change from the usual.

  4. Antonia says:

    Great salad and I love how easy it is to make. This will be perfect for the spring and summer 🙂

  5. Wade says:

    This is one of my go-to recipes if I need to make something in a hurry. Simple and delicious. I could make a meal out of this one. It screams summertime, although I’ve made it for Thanksgiving dinners too.

    I’ve used fresh and frozen corn, and just find using the frozen variety much easier. What I have tried with fresh corn is to roast it on a charcoal grill. The smoky variation is VERY tasty.

    Only point of disagreement I’d respectfully offer is that olive oil is one of the “good” oils, so the amount Smith calls for doesn’t concern me as much as if the oil suggested was, say, straight salad oil.

    • leggypeggy says:

      I’m glad you love this salad as much as we do. It is delicious and so easy to make. It’s a great idea to roast the corn. Thanks. I take your point about the oil. Olive oil is a ‘good’ oil and I use it rather than almost any other oil. But I still cut back on oil generally when I can.

Leave a Reply

