Ham, cheese and banana (or tomato) on toasted muffins

Goodies on English muffins

The thrifty cook, 294pp.
by Jacki Passmore
Penquin Book, Camberwell Victoria, 2010
Cooking on page 32

I’ve cooked and liked Jacki Passmore’s page-32 recipes twice in the past, so it was easy to be tempted by this at the local library.

Budget cooking is almost always a priority at our house. As a result, I try to buy and cook seasonally and with whatever is on special. But I was even further tempted by the fact that this page-32 recipe called for ham, cheese and banana (or tomato).

I have seven or eight tomato plants going great guns in the garden, so I figured it was time to check out the tomato version of page 32.

Ham, cheese, tomato on muffin

Ham, cheese and banana (or tomato) on toasted muffins

Ingredients
2 English muffins
butter
1 banana, mashed, or 4 cherry tomatoes, halved
4 small slices ham
4 squares cheese

Ham cheese tomato muffin Dijon on English muffin

Method
Preheat the grill.

Split the muffins and place cut-side down on the grill tray. Grill until golden, then turn and lightly toast the tops. Spread with a little butter.

If using banana, spread evenly over the muffins and top with ham and then cheese; if you prefer tomato, place it on top of the cheese. Season lightly with salt. Grill until the cheese is bubbling and lightly browned (about 4 minutes).

How it played out
Canberra is too cold to grow bananas. So with a garden brimming with tomatoes, I made this using some of the larger ones in the bounty.

I did the first toasting in the toaster. Why not? Then added a spread of dijon mustard because I love it. Also added a dash of salt, as well as freshly ground black pepper.

The thrifty cook cookbook

Verdict
Oh yum, oh yum, oh yum! Poor John and I had this for breakfast and then again for lunch on the same day. Hey, there are six muffins in a bag.

No idea how it would taste with banana, but the tomato version is out of this world. I might even have it again tomorrow.

Travel
If you have a bit of time check out some adventures on my travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Cheese, Fruit, Light meal, Meat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ham, cheese and banana (or tomato) on toasted muffins

  1. Wili says:

    what is similar between banana and tomato ?
    Both are fine with ham and cheese 🙂

  2. Yes, I too love those cheese melts. The banana and tomato tips it over the edge into a healthy food. Only just.

  3. This sounds like the perfect breakfast – hey, nothing wrong with having them for breakfast and for lunch – that is something I would do in a heartbeat 🙂

  4. … “No idea how it would taste with banana, but the tomato version is out of this world”… I agree 😀
    You know, Italy produces lots of tomato fruits! Yummi & yummi 😛
    Ciao
    Sid

  5. English muffins! WOW! A few years ago I realized that English muffins are not the “other” muffins! 🙂 I tried them they are really great!

  6. Grilled ham, cheese, and tomato sandwiches are delicious! I never would have thought of swapping out the tomato for banana, though. Very interesting! Side note on English muffins- they are perfect for mini pizzas and make excellent burger buns. 😋

  7. You’ve raised my curiosity on this one, Peggy. I’ve got to give this one a try.

  8. Sheryl says:

    This looks wonderful with the tomato. I can’t quite imagine what it would taste like with the banana (and probably won’t try it). 🙂

Leave a Reply

