Fettucce alfredo

Parmesan and cream

Soup, salad and pasta, 176pp.
by Derek and Ursel Norman
Gallery Books, New York City, 1982
Cooking on page 132–33

This is one of the first cookbooks I bought when I came to Australia in 1982. I was drawn to it because of all three kinds of dishes mentioned in the title.

There are about 60 pages of each type and I have cooked from all three sections, but never on a page 32.

Page 32 had a cream soup recipe. It’s been super hot in Australia this month, and not really soup weather, so I moved on to a pasta dish on page 132. This dish is apparently named after the owner of a famous restaurant, Alfredo, in Rome.

I’ll come back and do page 32 later.

Fettucce Alfredo

Fettucce alfredo

Ingredients
4 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup heavy cream
6 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste
8 oz fettucce

Adding cheese Alfredo sauce

Method
Melt the butter is a small saucepan over a low heat, Don’t let it brown.

Off the heat add the cream and the grated Parmesan. Put back on the fire to heat the sauce through and melt the cheese. Do not boil, however, because of the fresh cream. Stir in the salt and pepper.

Cook the fettucce in plenty of boiling water (add salt when boiling) until al dente. Drain well.

Combine the noodles and the sauce and leave to stand, covered, for 2 minutes before serving.

Note: You can substitute fettuccine for fettucce. Homemade noodles are especially fine for this dish.

How it played out
I’m sheepish to admit that I’ve never heard of fettucce pasta. Put me out of my misery and say you haven’t either. I decided it wasn’t worth prowling the supermarkets for it and decided to use the pasta I had on hand—rigatoni. It’s a tubular pasta and I figured the sauce would nestle inside the holes.

Soup, salad and pasta

I then followed the rest of the recipe. How could I not with such easy instructions. Served with a caesar salad garnished with a page-32 recipe for croutons (coming soon).

Verdict
Such simple ingredients to produce a lovely quick meal that turned out fine with rigatoni. Poor John and I thought the balance of flavours was just right.

I almost always have these ingredients on hand so will add this to my list of go-to recipes for busy days.

Travel
Speaking of busy days, check out amazing walking we did at Uluru (Ayers Rock) in central Australia.

 

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Dairy, Light meal, Main dish, Pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Fettucce alfredo

  1. Yet, no Garlic? No garlic at all?

  2. YUM! I could so go for a bowl of this right now Peggy! Thanks for sharing and glad the recipe was on the right page!

  3. This is an easy, quick to cook and famous sauce 😛
    No garlic, of course, that will “kill” the delicate taste of fresh heavy cream, pepe nero and parmesan! Fettucce are a kind of fresh “pasta all’uovo” but rigatoni (or maccheroni) are good as well. To serve pasta with salad: Italians eat salad with meat (second dish) 😀
    Yummi ❤
    Ciao
    Sid

  4. Love how absolutely simple this is, and as you said, the ingredients are usually on hand. One question… did you ever find out what fettucce pasta is? (You are not alone- I’ve never heard of it either!) 🙂

  5. A note just for you: fettuccine (correct italian name) or fettucce (so called especially in Rome) are the same “pasta all’uovo” (normally 1 egg every 100 gr. flour) and wider than “Bologna’s tagliatelle”:
    I do love fettucc-e/ine with Bologna’s ragù ❤
    Ciao
    Sid

  6. Sheryl says:

    I’ll have to remember this recipe. It’s always good to have a repertroire of quick, easy recipes for busy days.

  7. Oh I’m such a sucker for anything pasta. here is another one I’ll have to try.

Leave a Reply

