Broccoli with cheese and bacon topping

bacon, cheese, mustard

Not-so-humble vegetables, 128pp.
edited by Pamela Clark
The Australian Women’s Weekly Home Library, Sydney, 1999
Cooking on page 32

This cookbook is an A to Z compendium of dishes that put vegetables in a place of honour on the dining table.

It opens with a nifty nutrition guide that gives a rundown on the calories, fibre, vitamins, carbs and such for 43 of the most commonly used vegetables.

I was still in the Bs by the time I got to page 32.

Broccoli with cheese and bacon

Broccoli with cheese and bacon topping

Ingredients
750g broccoli
3 bacon rashers, chopped
40g butter
1/4 cup (35g) plain flour
1 teaspoon seeded mustard
1/3 cup (80ml) dry white wine
1 1/4 cup (310ml) milk
1/2 cup (60g) grated gruyere cheese
1/2 cup (60g) grated cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

steamed broccoli cooked bacon and milk adding cheese to sauce broccoli, cheese and bacon assembled

Method
Boil, steam or microwave broccoli until just tender; drain. Cook bacon, stirring, in small dry pan until browned; drain on absorbent paper.

Melt butter in medium pan; add flour, stir over heat until bubbling. Remove from heat; gradually stir in mustard, wine and milk. Stir over heat until sauce boils and thickens; remove from heat, stir in cheeses.

Stand broccoli upright in shallow oiled 1.375-litre (5 1/2-cup) ovenproof dish; pour over cheese mixture, scatter bacon over top. Cook under hot grill about 5 minutes or until browned and heated through.

Serves 4 to 6.

How it played out
Company was coming and I had three heads of broccoli just waiting to be made into this recipe. The instructions were straightforward, so I made this as written. That said, I think I let the sauce cook too long, making it thicker than it needed to be. I certainly couldn’t ‘pour’ the sauce over the broccoli, but it was my own fault.

I also thought there was too much sauce for the amount of broccoli. But this book is from the 1990s and many of the recipes in the book have what I think are ‘heavier’ sauces.

Verdict
Even though I had some issues with the sauce, I thought this gave a tasty result with ingredients I love. How could bacon ever disappoint?

I’ll be making it again, but reducing the amount of sauce by a third and adjusting the time that I cook it. Reducing the amount of flour might be enough to solve the problem. I’ll get back to you. 🙂

Sorry the pic of the cookbook is missing. We’re doing some renovations and I can’t find it. Oops! Why not drop over to my travel blog for a visit instead.

broccoli with cheese and bacon topping

 

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Side dish, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Broccoli with cheese and bacon topping

  1. Sy S. says:

    Sorry for not following this recipe exactly, but I used what I already had!!! Like, Cauliflower, Cheddar and Grated Parmesan Cheese, Cotta Salami cold cuts. And used my microwave for pre-cooking the Cauliflower and then the final dish. A nice recipe, but my guess is that crispy bacon would have been better and a little more sauce.

  2. elmotoo says:

    Yeah, so instead of sleeping, I’m drooling. Interesting note – your bacon looks like our ham or more likely Canadian bacon. Back to drooling…. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sheryl says:

    I often make broccoli with cheese, but never thought about adding bacon. But it sounds like it would make a wonderful addition–and while I probably won’t follow this recipe, I’m definitely going to throw in some bacon the next time I make broccoli with cheese.

  4. SpuntiSullArte says:

    Gnam 😉

  5. I want to eat this. Now! 😉

Leave a Reply

