Chickpea salad

 

Footy Flavours cookbook

Footy flavours, 182pp.
by stars of Australian rugby league
Ebury Press, North Sydney,2012
Cooking on page 32

Rugby league football has been a popular sport in Australia for more than a century, so it’s not surprising that someone decided to find out what the players love to cook and eat. Many recipes have been handed down from the players’ parents and grandparents.

But the main reason for compiling this book was to raise awareness of prostate cancer. It’s the most common cancer in Australian men, with 20,000 men being diagnosed each year and 3300 dying as a direct result of the disease.

The players donated their time as well as their recipes to bring about this book, in conjunction with the Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia.

Ben Ross of the Cronulla Sharks contributed this page-32 recipe. He also contributed a delicious sounding lasagne recipe on page 106. His secret ingredient for that is sweet potato. Oops! Maybe I wasn’t supposed to tell.

But I’ll spill all the details for page 32.

chickpea salad

Chickpea salad

Ingredients
1 Lebanese cucumber, halved lengthways and sliced
1 red capsicum (bell pepper), cut into thin strips
1 small red onion, halved and finely sliced
50g baby spinach leaves
400g can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp olive oil
3 tsp honey
1 small garlic clove, crushed
1/4 cup chopped coriander (cilantro)

chickpeas, veg and lemon chickpeas draining chopped veggies tomatoes and dressing

Method
Combine the vegetables and chickpeas in a serving bowl. Put the lemon juice, oil, honey and garlic into a small screw top jar; seal tightly and shake to combine.

Pour the dressing over the salad, and toss to coat Sprinkle with the coriander and serve.

Note: Ross says he sometimes adds chopped red chillies into the dressing.

How it played out
Salads are the single most common dish made at our house. Dinner always includes a salad, lunch usually does. It’s not surprising. My mother was a home economist and nutritionist (graduate of Purdue University) and my childhood meals seemed to revolve around salads. Maybe the salad thing is genetic!

So I know my salads and am a dab hand at making them. This one was so easy to make as written. Toss the veggies together and follow with the dressing.

No need to change a thing? Oh wait, I changed the colour of the capsicum (bell pepper). I had a green one on hand. But then the salad needed a hit of red, so I added a handful of cherry tomatoes and a bit extra lemon juice because I like sour.

Verdict
A terrific salad—quick-to-make, versatile, colourful, crunchy, healthy and with just the right amount of dressing. I almost always have these ingredients on hand so will make this often. Will probably add the suggested chopped red chillies and maybe even some crumbled feta.

Many thanks to Ben Ross.

And don’t forget to drop by my travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, lunch, Pulses, Salad, Side dish, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chickpea salad

  1. Fiona says:

    Going to share this on my FB page for all my Aus-based rugby league fan friends, which incidentally includes the school friend who was partly instrumental in my starting the blog. Thanks, Peggy!

  2. Shared this with UNK Alumni Twitter Community! I love this blog!

  3. Looks delicious! I will have to make it for myself unfortunately as the MOTH refuses to eat salads. I sometimes think I should have asked about that before we got hitched. 🙂

  4. Janin says:

    Peggy, what a delicious salad! I opted to make it with the original directions/ingredients. It was awesome, just like you said. It will be made again and again, and next time I’ll try the tomato and the feta like you mentioed 🙂 Thank you! Made for CQ’16 for the Sisters of the Travelling Pans.

  5. Jean Ray says:

    This was very tasty. I also added some tomatoes and used both red and green peppers.

Leave a Reply

