Lamb steaks with thyme

lamb, thyme and lemon

Cooking with herbs, 37pp.
by the Toowoomba Herb Group
Toowoomba Herb Group, Queensland, Australia, undated
Cooking on page 32

I have no idea how I came to own this little gem but it’s been around for a while. I’m guessing it was complied long before word processing was commonplace. That’s because it’s been done in the courier typeface that was used on manual typewriters, and the page numbers have been written in by hand.

The Toowoomba Herb Group, which I don’t think exists any longer, put the booklet together to encourage people to grow and cook with herbs. It’s photocopied and covers 34 different herbs.

I don’t need any encouragement, so let’s check out page 32, which has three recipes devoted to thyme. I made the first one, contributed by Ailsa Stagg.

lamb with asparagus, potato and salad

Lamb steaks with thyme

Ingredients
4 slices leg of lamb (1-inch thick)
24 small sprigs of thyme or lemon thyme
sea salt and pepper
2 T olive oil
1 T lemon juice
herb butter

marinating lamb steaks

cooking lamb steaks

Method
Rub each steak both sides with lemon juice and olive oil. Scatter the leaves of thyme over the meat on both sides. Leave 1 to 2 hours. Grill/broil the steaks. Sprinkle salt and pepper on after cooking. Serve with herb butter flavoured with tarragon, basil or mixed herbs.

How it played out
I had three small lamb leg steaks that were no more than 3/4-inch thick, but used the full amount of other ingredients.

I have both kinds of thyme growing in the garden, but used regular, and compensated by using a fancy-schmancy, lemon-infused olive oil. Cooking took 4–5 minutes a side.

I didn’t bother with the herb butter because I served this with a mixed salad, steamed asparagus and baked potatoes with a bit of butter and sour cream.

Cooking with herbs booklet

Verdict
A delicious take on lamb steak. I often cook with thyme but had never matched it with simple grilled lamb. It’s great. Try it, and my thanks to the Toowoomba Herb Group for a booklet that covers a few herbs I’ve never used before such as salad burnet and angelica.

Travel
I don’t have any pictures of Queensland posted on this blog yet (must get to work on that), but here’s a post showing some lovely Aussie scenery.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, lunch, Main dish, Meat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lamb steaks with thyme

  1. Can’t believe you never did mutton with Thyme before. Thought they grow together.

  2. Healthy Not Nuts says:

    I like it!

  3. Sy S. says:

    I love Lamb, but it is not that easy to find Lamb Steak, so I used a package I already had on hand… Lamb Stew Boneless. (Aside- Beef cubes for a stew is a little on the tough side and needs some slow cooking, but Lamb Stew Boneless is soft and not much cooking is needed). The Lamb Stew pieces marinated in Lemon, Olive Oil & Thyme and then grilled was wonderful. And sprinkling on Thyme on the finished lamb in my dish was a real nice tough. I have never tried Lemon and Thyme on Lamb and will try Lamb Chops using these ingredients next time. This was a very easy recipe to make and a delicious meal!

  4. momaphet says:

    I really enjoyed this the lemon and herbs were a perfect compliment to the richness of the lamb. I used a couple of smaller but thick chops as I’m the only lamb eater at home. I used both types of thyme, though more of the lemon which I really love fresh and used that again in my herb butter. I grilled them to medium, maybe a little more than I wanted but still nice and moist.

Leave a Reply

