Sweet chilli and lime parcels

lime, onion, coriander, sweet chilli sauce

Asia express: 100 fast and easy recipes,
224 pp.
by Marion Grasby
Pan Macmillan Australian, 2014
Cooking on pages 32–33

Marion Grasby was one of the darlings in an early series of MasterChef. I think a lot of people expected her to win but, towards the end of the competition, a satay sauce was her undoing.

Aside from that fateful sauce, I have always loved Grasby’s recipes. In fact, I’ve already posted one of hers for Chiang Mai noodle soup.

This book is all about fast and easy recipes, so let’s see what’s on page 32.

chilli and lime parcels

Sweet chilli and lime parcels

Ingredients
1/2 cup sweet chili sauce
3 tablespoons lime juice
4 x 180 g skinless white fish fillets such as snapper, ling, barramundi or any firm white fish
1/4 cup finely sliced spring onions
1/4 cup rougly chopped fresh coriander (cilantro)
lime wedges to serve

Marion Grasby Asia Express

Method
Preheat the oven to 200°C. Mix the sweet chili sauce and lime juice in a small bowl.

Cut four 40-cm long pieces of baking paper. Place a fillet of fish in the centre of each piece of paper and sprinkle over the spring onions and coriander. Bring the long sides of each piece of paper together and twist each of the two short sides to form a Christmas cracker shape (but leave a small opening in the top to pour in your sauce).

Spoon the sweet chili sauce mixture into your fish parcels and fold over the openings to seal each parcel. Place the parcels on a baking tray and bake for 15 minutes, or until the fish is just cooked through.

Serve the parcels as they are, to be opened at the table, or transfer the fish to individual serving plates, making sure to pour over the sauce. Serve with lime wedges and steamed jasmine rice.

fish, onion, coriander baked fish parcel

How it played out
I’ve been waiting a while to make this recipe—not because I didn’t have time, but because limes have been selling for as much as $2 each. But the other day, Supabarn had them on special for 70 cents so I bought three. Ling was cheap too, so I bought two pieces of about 200 grams each.

Then it was just a matter of following the simple instructions. The parcels were ready to go long before the oven was pre-heated, and then cooked perfectly in the recommended 15 minutes.

I served it with baked potatoes (to mop up the sauce) and a green salad.

Verdict
Wow, what a brilliant recipe. So much flavour for so little effort and so few calories (kilojoules). And the parcels worked so well, I didn’t even have to wash the pan. I will make this often and never feel guilty.

Please do try it if you like sweet chilli sauce and lime (oh yeah, and fish), and let me know what you think.

There’s a great-looking beef pho (Vietnamese soup) recipe on page 132. Judging on how good this recipe is, I might just have to try that too. Speaking of Vietnamese foods, you might like the blog post I wrote about their sesame crackers.

chilli and lime parcels with potato and salad

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Fish and seafood, Fruit, Light meal, Main dish, Seafood, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sweet chilli and lime parcels

  1. Wiltrud says:

    it looks delicious.

  2. Oh, that is something! One could take it to work, I can imagine.

  3. Fiona says:

    I’m going to do this tomorrow, or a version of it. I was looking for something to make with hake and am a bit bored with the usual… Thanks, Peggy!

    • leggypeggy says:

      Oh Fiona, please do let me know what you think of it. We really loved it, and so easy to make.

      • Fiona says:

        Will do. TMI, but I’ll prepare it before we head off to the pub as we do on a Friday later afternoon and finish it off when we get home…. I thought I had, on my blog, another fish favourite that I do in winter, but alas not. Will have to remedy that at some point!

      • leggypeggy says:

        I look forward to seeing your recipe. I have a couple of other fish recipes here that you might like.

  4. Such an interesting fish recipe, but simple ingredients, will have to give this a try 🙂

  5. Ha! I had it in mind to review this recipe a few weeks ago but alas, time slipped away from me. Today is the perfect day, however, as I am about to cook this for the second time. LOVE this recipe, it literally takes 5 minutes to prepare – even less to eat – it’s super healthy and very delicious. even my MM (mere male) devoured it and he’s not a huge fish fan. Curiously enough, it wasn’t until I popped the parcels in the oven that it dawned on me there isn’t a slither of fat – any fat – in the condiments. As an Italian, not drowning fish (or anything else) in olive oil seemed quite odd. But perfection it was and I agree, easy, healthy and yummy enough to become a weekly regular. Thanks for sharing Peggy and, might I add, thanks for the honour of cooking this in your kitchen 😉

Leave a Reply

