Condensed milk chocolate chip cookies

 

cookies, slices and squares cookbookCookies, slices and squares, 192pp.
by Pippa Cuthbert and Lindsay Cameron Wilson
New Holland Publishers Australia, Sydney, 2010
Cooking on page 32

I don’t eat a lot of sweets, but they do fit into my life.

Every now and then, I share tasty things with the women who come for book club at my house, or I send something with a daughter to take to work, or I share something in the neighbourhood, or the big naughty—I take them to gym class.

That’s what I did with this batch. On the first Tuesday of every month, we have a morning tea AFTER we’ve done our exercises. Usually I take a savoury option, but chocolate anything is always popular.

This is the offering from page 32.

condensed milk chocolate chip cookies

Condensed milk chocolate chip cookies

Ingredients
200g (7oz) butter, softened
75g (2¾ oz) caster sugar
125ml (4fl oz) sweetened condensed milk
250g (9oz) plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
300g (10½ oz) chocolate chips or chunks

butter and sugar cookie mixture adding choc chips cookie balls

Method
Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas Mark 4. Line one or two baking sheets with baking parchment.

Beat the butter and sugar together in a large bowl until pale and creamy. Pour in the condensed milk and beat to combine. In a separate bowl combine the flour and baking powder. Stir into the butter mixture then add the chocolate chips and mix to combine. Roll into tablespoon-sized balls and place on the prepared baking sheets. Press down gently with a fork and bake for 15–18 minutes, or until golden.

How it played out
This is a short and straightforward recipe, so I followed it as written. I wondered whether the sweetened condensed milk and butter would give enough moisture to the flour, but you can see from the photos that the dough was fine.

They took the full 18 minutes to bake and I got 32 cookies (called biscuits in Australia).

Verdict
Such a quick, easy and tasty recipe that was a big hit at the gym.

I’ll be making it again tomorrow for book club—we’re reading Sue Monk Kidd’s The invention of wings. My bag of chocolate chips weigh 250 grams (8.8 ounces) and that will be plenty.

Travel
Please take a moment to drop by my travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Baking, Biscuits/cookies, Chocolate, Dairy, Snack and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Condensed milk chocolate chip cookies

  1. I adore anything which has condensed milk in it. Mostly just so I can scrape the tin out with my fingers.

Leave a Reply

