Johann Sebastian pork

Nudes and foods cookbook

Nudes and food: Gorman goes gourmet, 82pp.
compiled by Virginia Dooley
Northland Press, Flagstaff, Arizona, 1981
Cooking on page 32

I’ve had this cookbook for ages and never cooked from it until now. I probably bought it in the United States, but really don’t remember. But I was obviously attracted by the title.

Rudolph Carl Gorman (of the title) was a descendant of Navaho craftsmen, holy men and tribal leaders and was probably the first Native American artist to be recognised internationally as a major American artist. In 1973, he was the only living artist whose work was shown in the ‘Masterworks of the American Indian’ show held at the Metropolitan Museum in New York. One of his pieces was selected for the cover of the exhibit’s catalog.

The New York Times praised his work and called him ‘the Picasso of American Indian art’. His paintings are primarily of Native American women, and show fluid forms and vibrant colours. He also worked in sculpture, ceramics and stone lithography.

Gorman loved food too and produced four cookbooks, including this one that includes 22 of his drawings of nudes. All the recipes were contributed by his fans. Page 32 has two recipes—a weird-sounding cassoulet and a tempting pork dish. You know what I chose.

Johann Sebastian pork

Johann Sebastian pork

Ingredients
6 pounds loin of pork
3 or 4 big onions
6 green cooking apples
1 large clove of garlic
1 teaspoon sage
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 cup red wine
1/2 cup apple cider
salt

onions, apples and pork peeling and coring apples herbed pork pork loin pork loin cooking

Method
Trim fat off meat. Insert slices of garlic into cuts on meat. Rub pork with salt, sage and ginger. Place in roasting pan. Preheat oven to 400°F. Place uncovered roast in oven for 15 to 20 minutes to brown. Remove the roast from oven and turn the heat down to 325°F.

Place around the roast the cored and sliced apples and onions. Add the 1/2 cup red wine and the 1/2 cup apple cider—and place the now covered roast back in the oven. Cook for 4 hours or longer. Remove and carve. Serve with brown rice and tossed green salad. Serves 6 to 8.

How it played out
These days I rarely cook for a crowd, so I made half a batch using 3 pounds (about 1.5 kilos) of pork loin. But we love our sides, so I used the full amounts of onions, apples, red wine and apple juice (no cider on hand).

I didn’t have dried sage or ground ginger on hand. So used about a tablespoon of chopped fresh sage and a thumb’s worth of chopped fresh ginger.

My nifty hand-operated machine that peels, cores and slices apples was a great help. It’s a fun gadget that I use whenever I can.

Because I used half the amount of roast, I also cut the cooking time in half, which was just about perfect. I was impressed that the meat really did brown in the first 20 minutes of cooking.

Verdict
This roast is sensational. Tender, moist, juicy and full of flavour. The apples and onions are fabulously delicious too. I was really glad I’d used fresh sage and ginger. Served with mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and a green salad.

A great dish for entertaining or just plain good eating at home.

Travel
If you have a moment, be sure to check out my travel blog. There are quite a few pictures of almost nudes in the posts about Papua New Guinea. Here’s one.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Fruit, Main dish, Meat, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Johann Sebastian pork

  1. jeanettev2014 says:

    Nudes and Foods, lol Leggypeggy. Summer is ending here on Wednesday so it will be Fall. This is a nice dish for Fall, thank you. You will be receiving a private e-mail from me about the Winter ahead of us & the Summer we have had. For you it is about to become Summer?

    • leggypeggy says:

      This is a perfect dish for fall and winter. But I must admit that I am enjoying some early summer in France and Spain. Back home next month, so now posting recipes I made in August in Australia. 🙂

  2. Susie D says:

    I adapted the recipe to 3 thick bone in pork chops. I pan seared the chops and then added the rest of the ingredients. The skillet was then covered with the heat reduced to simmer. The result was wonderful flavored pork chops with an abundance of soft onions and apples topped with a thickened sweetish sauce with a tang from the vinegar. I would definitely make this again! Made for the Culinary Quest 2016. ……. Susie D

    • leggypeggy says:

      So glad you enjoyed this Susie. We loved the combination of flavours too, and it’s a great recipe for company. That said, I love the fact you made it for a family meal.

  3. Mary Pat Frick, aka twissis says:

    Made for CQ#3 & this was excellent, Peggy. Thanks for your kind permission to use a pork roast instead of tenderloin. The only change I made was minor. I was a little short of onion, so I used part of a red onion I had in the fridge. I had a great-uncle who escaped the German invasion of Czechoslovakia, came to the US & married my great-aunt. A meal like this (or roast duck), often w/sauerkraut or dumplings, was his favorite & became a family fave as well. Thx for sharing this recipe w/the Quest & helping me to remember happy times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

