French fried dill pickles

Beyond grits and gravy

Beyond grits and gravy, 287pp.
by Gwen McKee and Barbara Moseley
Quail Ridge Press, Brandon Mississippi, 2004
Cooking on page 32

One look at the word ‘grits’ and I knew this book was about American Southern cooking. In fact, it’s part of the Best of the Best series of cookbooks highlighting favourite recipes from different regions and states in the United States.

McKee and Moseley travelled thousands of miles in the USA to compile all 42 books in the series. Recipes have come from popular restaurants, noted chefs, local publications, Junior League members, community organisations and everyday good cooks.

Today’s page-32 recipe is from a 1980 cookbook, A man’s taste by the Junior League of Memphis Tennessee.

French fried dill pickles

French fried dill pickles

Ingredients
dill pickles
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup beer
1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons garlic salt
3 dashes Tabasco

dill pickles sliced dill pickles spices pickle slices in batter

Method
Cut dill pickles in slices as thick as a silver dollar. Mix the rest of the ingredients together. Dip pickle slices in batter and quick-fry at 375°F in grease until the pickle slices float to the top, or about 4 minutes.

How it played out
As soon as I started putting together the ingredients, I knew this recipe was never going to work as is. How in the world was 1/4 cup of beer ever going to make a batter with almost 3/4 cup of dry ingredients?

I upped the beer to almost a cup, which made a batter consistency. But when I went to fry the pickle slices, all the batter floated off into the oil.

I’ve checked a lot of fried dill pick recipes—something I’d never heard of when I lived in the USA but which now appear on almost every menu ther—and the dry to liquid ratio is much different.

Many recipes also start with a dip in seasoned flour, then batter, then the flour again.

Verdict
I made these as an appetiser for a friend’s drinks party. They tasted fine, actually quite good, but they looked so dismal on the plate.

I was disappointed with the results and will be looking for a different fried dill pickle recipe when I feel the urge to have them again.

P.S. I tried fried dill pickle spears in the USA in December when I was there for a family wedding. They are tasty and I was looking forward to duplicating them at home.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Appetiser, Snack, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to French fried dill pickles

  1. Love fried dill pickles! If you find that perfect recipe – please share!

  2. weggieboy says:

    My first thought: Has to be a Southern treat! Yep! They do look a bit grim in the phtoo, but a tempura-type batter with the same herbs and spices might result in a nicer looking snack.

  3. elmotoo says:

    oh YUM. The residence I worked at received a case of dill pickles. Yes, a whole LOT of jars of pickles! The consumers looked at me like I was nuts but we had a party of fried pickles! Not having a recipe, I made *something* up using ..oh phooey…WAS it carbonated?? The biggest thing I did was to DRY the pickles. Then dipped in flour then the batter, whatever it was, then fried. It worked! We were happy! We ate several jars, lol, It can be done & it is a very tasty snack so keep hunting for that perfect recipe!

  4. Sy S. says:

    Peggy and Pickle Lovers, United we Stand/Munch/Nosh ofn Pickles:
    There is rarely a day/week in which I do not have some dill pickles (or variations) in my refrigerator. So I will absolutely make this or a similar recipe for Fried Pickles. However, I will search a bit to see what others have done (drying the pickles, sounds like a good idea).
    Also, it is not exactly a northeastern regional type of snack/treat…
    Sy S.

  5. Potsie says:

    I LOVE pickles and had high expectations I would like them fried. I didn’t like them at all. (not this particular recipe but at a restaurant.) I’m from Texas and we will deep fry ANYTHING but the pickles just weren’t for my tastes. Here is an example of the things crazy Texans eat deep fried. LOL

    http://www.dallasnews.com/entertainment/state-fair-of-texas/headlines/20141001-guide-to-fried-best-and-worst-fried-foods-at-the-state-fair-of-texas-2014.ece

    • leggypeggy says:

      Oh my, look at all those fried food options! I had some nice fried dills in Omaha and was disappointed these didn’t turn out better. I’ll keep trying.

    • Sy S. says:

      Hello Potsie,

      My cousin who lives in Dallas (transplanted from Brooklyn, NYC) for over 50 years, said she loved the Texas State Fair. She would show her horses and student horses there… but did not say much about pickled fries. Oh well… the URL was interesting and the various fried foods people offered.

      Sy S.

  6. Sy S. says:

    French Fried Dill Pickles-
    I made three recipes and used a small amount of pickles and a small amount of batter… ‘winged it.” Recipes as follows:
    #1 FRENCH FRIED DILL PICKLES (as posted above). I placed all the pickle slices (about 10) into the batter (which had beer..), tossed and then into hot oil. Some of the batter did not stick well, but I did taste the paprika and dash of Tabasco.
    #2 FRENCH-FRIED DILL PICKLES by Miss Annie- I split each whole pick in half and into the batter (which had milk, beer, egg… Mr. Dash seasoning), tossed and then into the hot oil. The batter did stick fairly well but not great, the taste was good.
    #3 BEER-BATTER FRIED PICKLES- I placed all the pickle slices (about 10) into the batter (which had an egg, beer, baking powder…), tossed and then into the hot oil. The batter did stick will and tasted good as. So overall the best of the three recipes I tried.

    Note: It is important to dry the pickles with paper towels prior to placing them in a batter. Second, the small round pickle slices were better for coating and not the whole pickle halves. Using an egg in the batter was the best ingredient and I also added Mr. Dash seasoning as well. Basically you can add whatever ingredients you like, including more or less Tobacco to taste. And dipping the finished pickles in a salad dressing, like I use Blue Cheese made them really yummy! Finally Google for recipes and also Images…

    Sy S.
    Metro NYC

    • leggypeggy says:

      Oh Sy, you are amazing—and so organised. Thanks for all the tips and recipe ideas. I did dry my pickles so the main culprit was the batter. Look forward to trying them again—with another brilliant idea of yours—blue cheese sauce for dipping.

  7. Pingback: Picadillo | What's cooking on page 32

  8. Pingback: Three walls of pickles—my kind of heaven | Where to next?

Leave a Reply

