Easy picnic broccoli salad (and bonus mayonnaise)

Mannlein Memories cookbook

Mannlein memories, 210pp.
by the family of Leo and Catherine Mannlein
Morris Press, Nebraska, 2003
Cooking on page 32

I borrowed this cookbook in Nebraska from my dear friend, Jim Rundstrom. The Rundstrom family’s first appearance in What’s cooking on page 32 was with watermelon balls made by Jim’s grandsons.

Back in the Dark Ages (sorry Jim), one of his university roommates gave him this book. I’m guessing the roomie was a member of the Mannlein family. The cover has a pic of the newlyweds and the inside front cover has a copy of the 1928 invitation to the wedding of Leo and Catherine Mannlein.

Today’s Mannlein family recipe is from page 32.

Broccoli salad

Easy picnic broccoli salad

Ingredients
3 c. broccoli
1 red onion
1 c. grated cheddar cheese
6 slices bacon
1 c. mayonnaise
1/4 c. sugar
2 T. vinegar

broccoli, bacon, onion frying bacon trimmed broccoli broccoli salad ingredients

Method
Cut broccoli into bite-sized pieces. Chop onion. Cook and crumble bacon. Mix broccoli, onion, bacon and cheese. Mix mayonnaise, sugar and vinegar. Pour over broccoli mixture. Mix well and refrigerate.

How it played out
This recipe has been on my to-do list for a long, long time. I just needed to have the right weather and all the elements on hand. Luckily it’s summer in Australia now and this week has been blisteringly hot—nudging 90°F every day.

I had a large head of broccoli and everything else, so let’s get on with it. For starters, I cut off most of the broccoli stem. I figured if the broccoli wasn’t cooked, I should stick with the more tender bits.

Then came the bacon and onion. Our Aussie bacon is thick and lean. So I used 3 slices, which weighed 250 grams (about 8 ounces). The onion was huge too, so I used just half. My cup of cheddar, which I grated by hand, weighed about 4 ounces or 125 grams.

Finally came the dressing. Given that these recipes probably come from long ago, I adjusted the balance of ingredients a bit by using only 3/4 cup of mayo, 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tablespoon of vinegar.

I did use my homemade mayo and have included the recipe below. I reckon it is the easiest and tastiest mayonnaise recipe you’ll ever eat (and with no added sugar). Go on, make it at least once. It’s not from any page 32, so instead give thanks to Debbie who taught me this sensational recipe in 1982.

Verdict
What a great salad. I was tempted to give the broccoli a zap in the microwave, but I’m so glad I didn’t.

Broccoli salad

The adjusted dressing was perfect, so don’t feel the need to use the full cup of mayo. But by all means, use the mayo recipe below. I’ve been making it for more than 30 years and it’s the only mayo my kids will eat.

Served with a page-32 recipe from North Africa, dogfish in hot sauce.

Oh and be sure to check out my travel blog.

Homemade mayonnaise (ala Debbie)
I always make a double batch, but cut it in half if you don’t want as much. Keeps well in the fridge (for up to a month). The eggs are raw. If you worry about salmonella, just wash and dry the eggs well before cracking. To be honest, I have never done that and have never had a problem. But thought I should pass on the advice.

Ingredients
2 eggs
2 teaspoons dry mustard
2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup white vinegar
450 ml (a scant 2 cups) vegetable oil

Method
Put the first four ingredients in a food processor and buzz for 30 seconds. With the food processor still running, add the oil, slowly and in a fine stream. If you rush it, the mayo will curdle.

And voila, you’re done. It will take less than 5 minutes. Store in the fridge.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Dairy, Light meal, Salad, Sauces and condiments, Side dish, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Easy picnic broccoli salad (and bonus mayonnaise)

  1. weggieboy says:

    One of my favorite salads!

  2. Looks Yummy!!! 90 degrees outside! It is a balmy 7 with a negative 22 degree (F) windchill!!! Pretty chilly out – enjoy that warm weather! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sy S. says:

    Yes, this salad recipe is good for a chilly minus 2 degrees wind chill factor/20 degrees F manana.. so I made it tonight, before the big freeze in Metro NYC. It was one of the easiest recipes I have made.. cooking a hard boiled egg (for the recipe) took the longest time. I had left overs so used them; cut up chicken, 2 sausage paddies, artichokes, olives, Swiss cheese. I wanted to make the homemade mayonnaise recipe, but was concerned about the salmonella. And also wanted to try Egg Beaters (eggs in a small carton), but three small supermarkets in my area only had the Egg White Beaters. Sooo, I used Hellmann’s Mayo, added Collman’s dry mustard, a squeeze of lemon and a little olive oil… voila, it was good.

    Thanks for posting this tasty recipe,

    Sy S.

    • leggypeggy says:

      Sy, your salad sounds great too, and a perfect way to use up some leftovers. And I always think that Hellman’s is pretty close in taste to my recipe, but the addition of mustard would make it even closer..

  4. Pingback: Swedish pickled cucumbers | What's cooking on page 32

  5. Pingback: Anchovy butter | What's cooking on page 32

  6. Pingback: Kelb el bhar chetitta (Dogfish in hot sauce) | What's cooking on page 32

  7. Pingback: Cucumber and salmon bites | What's cooking on page 32

  8. Pingback: Muffuletta sandwich | What's cooking on page 32

  9. Pingback: Sweet potato salad | What's cooking on page 32

  10. Pingback: Herby potato salad | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

