Limoncello cocktail

Bubbly, limoncello and lime

Cocktails, 208pp.
by Murdoch Books Test Kitchen
Murdoch Books, Millers Point NSW, 2010
Cooking/drinking on page 32

I’m not much of a cocktail drinker. Give me a glass of wine or a beer any day, and I’m very partial to coffee, tomato juice and low-fat milk.

But I liked the look of the recipe on page 32 and the fact that I had a magazine recipe for homemade limoncella.

Both recipes look dead easy to make, so I checked this out from the local library.

Limoncello cocktail

Limoncello cocktail

Ingredients
10 ml (1/4 oz) lime juice
15 ml (1/2 oz) limoncello
chilled Champagne or sparkling wine

Making limoncello cocktail

Method
Pour the lime juice and limoncello into a chilled champagne flute, then slowly top up with Champagne or sparkling wine.

How it played out
So much for making a homemade version of limoncello. The recipe for the homemade version called for a litre of 95% alcohol by volume. When I went searching for it, I discovered that it’s hard to come by. Years ago, hardware stores sold it (sometimes even chilled), and people often bought it for cheap but dangerous drinking sessions.

Now it is sold in only a few bottle shops (liquor stores) and it costs almost $64 for half a litre. Luckily, I found a 700ml bottle of limoncello for $43, so figured that would do the job.

Then I waited until Libby and Daniel were visiting for a weekend, so a bottle of bubbly wouldn’t go to waste. We can’t call Australian sparkling wine ‘Champagne’ because it doesn’t come from the champagne region of France.

They made the drinks, I took the pictures and we all enjoyed a glass. Libby and Daniel hammed it up for the photos. I’m showing the sedate ones. 🙂

Limoncello cocktails

Verdict
Very refreshing and a nice change from straight bubbly. Great for summer.

Oh, and the other day I saw a recipe for homemade limoncello that could be made with vodka. I probably won’t bother with that simply because it will take me years to use up the bottle I bought.

P.S. Libby and Daniel have helped out (actually done all the work) on a couple of other page-32 recipes. Check out their efforts on prinzregententorte and sour cream coffee cake. And feel free to stop by my travel blog too.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Beverage, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Limoncello cocktail

  1. weggieboy says:

    Lemonade…greatly enhanced! Sounds tasty!

  2. g2-5bba245eb6db01d36e28de6648a6336a says:

    There are a number of homebrew stills that now produce good quality raw alcohol that is great for home made limoncello, I make my own and enjoy it over ice with a dash of frozen vodka

    With champaign and a wedge of lime it would be great, it is also refreshing in lemonade or lemon squash

  3. JunkChuck says:

    I’ve got a bottle of limocello in the freezer that I never get around to sipping–this looks like just the ticket to get that thing out from under the frozen chicken and into my belly where it belongs.

  4. Pingback: Toasted chickpea flour | What's cooking on page 32

  5. Pingback: Paris—starting in the dark underside | Where to next?

  6. Pingback: Thinking about the works of sculptor, Auguste Rodin | Where to next?

Leave a Reply

