Griddled bread with ricotta, mint, chilli and lemon

Ricotta with chilli, lemon and chives

A suitcase and a spatula, 144pp.
by Tori Haschka
Ryland Peters and Small, London, 2013
Cooking on page 32

The author loves to eat, cook and travel, so it’s not surprising that she managed to combine these loves and be able to gallivant around the world (often on weekends) sampling food and collecting recipes.

This page-32 recipe is from the iconic Bondi Beach in Sydney, Australia. Haschka recommends enjoying these bruschettas with a Campari on ice—unless you’re having them for breakfast instead of lunch.

Grilled bread with ricotta

Griddled bread with ricotta, mint, chilli and lemon

Ingredients
4 slices of good sourdough bread
2 tablespoons good olive oil
100 g (1/2 cup) good ricotta cheese
1 tablespoon dried chilli flakes
1 lemon
20 mint leaves, torn
flaky salt and black pepper

Sourdough bread and lemons

Method
Drizzle each slice of bread with the olive oil and griddle it on a ridged grill pan until lightly charred.

Put the ricotta in a bowl and top with the dried chilli and grated zest of half the lemon.

Serve the bread and ricotta on a platter with the mint leaves, lemon wedges and salt and pepper on the side.

Encourage people to make their own bruschetta with chilli, ricotta, mint leaves and lemon juice, and plenty of salt and pepper.

Griddled sourdough bread

How it played out
I’ve been on a bread-making binge for the last few months, with a special focus on sourdough recipes. So this recipe cried out to be made. But nobody else was home, so I made it for one.

I slapped one slice on the griddle pan and gave it a good long time to brown and crisp up. When I went to the garden, I found that a recent frost had zapped the mint, so I had to use chives, but I followed everything else.

A suitcase and a spatula cookbook

Verdict
I think ricotta cheese is rather bland so wasn’t expecting too much from this recipe.

Luckily, I was very pleasantly surprised. The chilli, lemon and chives made all the difference, and I was left wishing I’d made enough for two. When I make it again, I think I’ll stick with the chives—love the oniony flavour.

Oh, and if you’re in the mood to drag out your suitcase, be sure to check out my travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Appetiser, Bread, Breakfast, Dairy, Light meal, Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Griddled bread with ricotta, mint, chilli and lemon

  1. What a life to travel the world to sample foods and recipes…just a dream! I love ricotta cheese, and this combination of the ricotta and this savory combination of flavors looks delicious, easy but fancy looking 🙂

  2. sherien says:

    The combination of ricotta cheese and chilli seems quite interesting….must have been good…

  3. Rhonda says:

    Like you, I’m not a fan of ricotta. The lemon zest and chilli may make the cheese a little more appealing, though.

Leave a Reply

