Crunchy peanut butter cookies

Baking cookies

Farm Journal’s best-ever cookies, 280pp.
by Patricia A Ward
Farm Journal, Philadelphia, 1980
Cooking on page 32

I bought this gem second-hand just a few years after it came out. The $8.50 I spent on it has saved me money for years because it’s my go-to book for all things to do with cookies.

Being a Farm Journal cookbook, it is filled with tried-and-true recipes from farm kitchens across the USA. There are state and county fair winners, bake-sale favourites and secret recipes from grandmas.

The chapters cover shortcut cookies, nutritious treats, lunch-box specials, budget options, holiday favourites, special occasions and more. I think I’ve cooked from every single chapter, plus I’ve written friends’ cherished recipes on the inside covers.

I’ve even cooked on page 32 of this book before—date meringue bars—and also made the big burger from Farm Journal’s barbecue cookbook.

Crunchy peanut butter cookies

Crunchy peanut butter cookies

Ingredients
3 c. sifted flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. shortening
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 c. chunky peanut butter
1 tsp. vanilla

Method
Sift together flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Adding egg to batter Adding peanut butter  to batter

Cream together shortening, sugar and brown sugar in bowl until light and fluffy, using electric mixer at medium speed. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Add peanut butter and vanilla; beat until smooth.

Gradually stir dry ingredients into creamed mixture, mixing well. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place balls about 2 inches apart, on greased baking sheets. Flatten each with floured tines of a fork in a crisscross pattern.

Bake in 400° over 12 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove from baking sheets; cook on racks. Makes about 5 1/2 dozen.

How it played out
Made as written using butter as the shortening. Oh, and I was a couple of tablespoons short of the full cup of white sugar. No one noticed.

Farm Journal cookie cookbook

I must have made slightly larger balls because I got 54 cookies rather than the predicted 66.

Verdict
Farm Journal has come up trumps again. So if you’ve been looking for a sensational recipe for peanut butter cookies, this is it.

I’ll make these again soon—after I exercise off some of the calories I ‘gathered’ from the first batch.

Got the travel bug?
Be sure to check out my travel blog. We’re in Central Asia at the moment.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Baking, Biscuits/cookies, Dessert, Eggs, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crunchy peanut butter cookies

  1. Potsie says:

    You know I love a good peanut butter cookie!

    Why is it that if you don’t make the crisscross pattern with a fork it just ain’t a good PB cookie? Strange but true. I

    I’ve ate millions of billions PB cookies in my lifetime but without the crisscross pattern something is just wrong.. I don’t know what goes wrong but I don’t argue with science.

  2. Verrry good! Just made these and have already eaten 5 of them. That’s on top of the inordinate amount of delicious cookie dough that I ate while putting them on the trays. It made about 4 dozen and I put some of the dough in the freezer for later. A keeper.

  3. I have been craving peanut butter sweets, cookies brownies whatever it is, I must try these soon!

  4. Pingback: Cinnamon crinkles | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

