World’s easiest tomato pasta sauce

pasta and sauceLove to cook, 304pp.
by Valli Little,
delicious. magazine HarperCollinsPublishing, 2013
Cooking on page 132

Some people are super lucky at winning lotteries, raffles, contests and such. This was my moment of fame. I wrote—in 25 words or less—about loving to cook and a favourite indulgent dish.

The competition was sponsored by Australia’s popular delicious. magazine. I’ve subscribed to delicious. for more than 10 years, but this is the first time I’ve ever entered one of their comps. Was thrilled to get a letter saying I was one of 10 people to win a cookbook and apron.

So now to get busy on page 132. Page 32 was a chapter divider. Tomato pasta sauce

World’s easiest tomato pasta sauce

Ingredients
1/3 cup (80ml) olive oil
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/2 tsp chilli flakes
2 x 400g cans chopped tomatoes
1 tsp castor sugar
1 cup (150g) mixed pitted olives
2 tbs finely chopped flat-leaf parsley
400g spaghetti, cooked according to packet instructions
torn basil leaves, to serve onions parsley

Method
Heat oil in saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute or until fragrant.

Add chilli, tomato and sugar, stirring until sugar dissolves, then reduce heat to medium-low, and cook for 20 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat.

Season with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, then stir in olives and parsley. Serve with spaghetti and basil leaves.

Serves 4.

How it played out
With such an easy recipe, I had no choice but to follow it exactly. I even used the full amount of oil.

Love to Cook cookbook Verdict
It may not be the very best pasta sauce you’ll ever eat, but it is certainly the easiest to make and it was perfectly delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed it for lunch and it’s been added to my recipes for busy days.

And my sincere thanks to delicious. magazine for the cookbook and apron. I’ll have to keep an eye out for future competitions and see if my creativity can strike again.

Interested in travel?
Poor John and I are on an overland truck travelling from Tehran to Beijing. The group is divided into cook groups, and we’re cooking with a fellow from the UK.

We haven’t had many pasta dishes because one of the passengers is a celiac. But when I can find all the ingredients for this, you can be sure I’ll make it for the pasta eaters. It will be a breeze to whip up over a campfire and I know everyone will love it.

Feel free to check out my travel blog for info on some of the sights.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, Main dish, Pasta, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World’s easiest tomato pasta sauce

  1. I made a fairly similar sauce yesterday for dinner tonight. I’m planning to slip a couple of fillets of fish into it and bake them in it along with a tablespoon or so of capers.

  2. sherien says:

    Loved this sauce and it is indeed easy to prepare…

Leave a Reply

