Prawn and avocado salad

Prawn and avocado salad

Tasty seafood, 176pp.
compiled by Anthony Carroll
R&R Publications Marketing
Cooking on page 32

Coming from Nebraska, I’ve  always felt that my knowledge in the seafood department was never fully developed.

I remember the time in my childhood when dad, who was a pilot, brought home a whole bucket of prawns from New Orleans. Until then, I’d only ever seen tiny peeled prawns from a tin, so it was fascinating to see those large shelled creatures.

Dad was a great cook in his own right, but I can’t remember what he created with the prawns, or shrimps as they are called in the US.

Nowadays I cook a lot of fish and seafood. This recipe is one of two on page 32.

Prawn and avocado salad

Prawn and avocado salad

Ingredients
750g cooked king prawns
1 avocado, sliced
1 grapefruit, segment

Yogurt dressing

Dressing
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
2 tablesppons sour creams
1 tablespoon natural yoghurt
1/4 cup mint, chopped

Method
Shell and devein prawns. Arrange prawns, avocado and grapefruit on a serving plate.

To make dressing, combine mayonnaise, sour cream, yoghurt and mint. Drizzle over prawns and fruit, and serve immediately. Serves 4.

Tasty seafood cookbook

How it played out
I had about 600 grams of prawns in the freezer. Even better, they were cooked, shelled and deveined.

So the hard work in this recipe was segmenting the grapefruit and slicing the avocado without mauling it. The dressing was a breeze to mix up and a bit of mint in the garden had survived the frost.

Verdict
I’d never thought of combining grapefruit and prawns, but it works, really works. This dish tastes wonderful, looks sensational and so easy to make.

Serve it to company—they’ll be impressed and might even think you’ve slaved for hours.

And be sure to check out my travel blog. You never know where in the world I might be. 🙂

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Dairy, Fish and seafood, Light meal, Main dish, Salad, Sauces and condiments, Seafood, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Prawn and avocado salad

  1. rinshinomori says:

    This looks very good. I might make this for our camping. Make the dressing ahead of time to take.

  2. G’day! I love this combination and would not have thought of putting those two ingredients together! I might now have to put this on my list to do! Thank you Peggy!
    Cheers! Joanne

  3. So 70’s but so yummy looking! I can’t eat grapefruit as it messes with my blood pressure meds but I reckon blood orange might work in there too.

    • leggypeggy says:

      You’re right, Jan, it’s straight out of the 70s. And yes, blood orange would be a perfect substitution. Let me know how it turns out if you make it.

  4. Pingback: Cuba at work and play and my favourite pic | Where to next?

Leave a Reply

