Strawberry–almond butter

Strawberries

The tastes of Washington, 144pp.
by Fred Brack and Tina Bell
Evergreen Publishing Company, 1986
Cooking on page 32

My dad was born in Washington state, and my family travelled there fairly regularly when I was growing up. Poor John and I visited again in 2012, so you could assume that I bought this cookbook there and then.

But nope, I bought it second-hand for $2 in a small op shop in New Zealand. I love a bargain.

It’s a straightforward cookbook with recipes that focus on the very best of Washington’s crops such as asparagus, oysters and crabs, salmon, wild mushrooms, russet potatoes, pears, those famous sweet Walla Walla onions (gosh I wish we could buy them in Australia) and loads of berries.

So in the absence of the onions,  let’s go check out the berries on page 32.

Strawberry–almond butter

Strawberry–almond butter

Ingredients
1/2 pound butter, softened
1 cup superfine/caster sugar
1 pound strawberries, hulled
1 cup ground almonds
1/4 teaspoon salt

Making strawberry–almond butter

Proof that I threw everything in together

Method
Process butter with sugar until creamy and sugar crystals have disappeared. Remove to bowl.

Process berries 10–15 seconds, but do not liquefy. Return butter–sugar mixture to processor bowl with almonds and salt, and process until mixture is blended.

How it played out
Good grief! You’d think I could follow instructions, but I glanced at the cookbook and then threw everything in the food processor at once. May have affected the texture, but not by much.

Given that we weren’t having pancakes for a bit, I spooned balls of the butter into ice-cube trays and froze for later use.

The tastes of Washington cookbook

Verdict
Easy-to-make (even when you don’t follow the instructions) with a lovely flavour, and perfect for toast, pancakes, waffles, scones, crumpets and the like.

Served with lemon and ricotta pancakes, another page-32 recipe. Plus, I hope to add this yummy butter to a couple of other bready treats.

Given that we don’t eat pancakes often, I’ve shared quite a few lumps of this sweet butter with people who might use them up more quickly that we would.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy, Fruit, Garnish, Sauces and condiments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strawberry–almond butter

  1. The title makes my mouth water, I have had strawberry butter at fancy Brunch locations, but the almonds add a whole new element to the spread. Thanks for sharing this looks very easy to make, yet sounds quite impressive!

  2. Krystal says:

    Absolutely superb!

  3. Pingback: Lemon and ricotta pancakes | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

