Carrot coleslaw

grated carrot shredded cabbage

Junior cook, book 1, 184pp.
by Mary Pat Fergus
Rigby Publishers, Sydney, 1982
Cooking on page 32

My daughters are in their 30s, so they’ve had this cookbook for a long, long time. Back then, I bought several copies for the girls to give to other children as birthday presents. I thought it was a brilliant idea at the time, but I suppose a bunch of little girls would have preferred a My Little Pony. Sorry, but my practical side is pretty strong!

We never cooked out of this a lot, but in preparing this post I learned that Ms Fergus has published almost 10 cookbooks for juniors. This is the only one I have.

I’ve found websites that say users rate her books very highly. One website has a thread from 2008, in which posters asked if anyone had Fergus junior books  they were willing to sell. It was interesting to see that one of Ms Fergus’ daughters commented in that thread, saying her mum would be thrilled to know people had a long-term interest in her books.

So let’s enjoy what’s on page 32.

carrot coleslaw

Carrot coleslaw

Ingredients
3 nice carrots
1/4 of a cabbage
1/2 cup raisins (or sultanas)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 cup mayonnaise

Method
Scrape, then grate carrots. Shred cabbage (that means cut finely with a sharp knife). Go slowly.

Junior cook, book 1

Put carrots, cabbage, raisins into a nice salad bowl. Add salt. Toss it around. Toss in lemon juice and sugar. Add mayonnaise. Toss again.

Pop in refrigerator till serving time. This will serve 4.

How it played out
I made half a batch of salad with a full batch of dressing. I added the salt to the carrots, cabbage and raisins, but made the dressing separately, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Then poured it over the salad.

Used my homemade mayonnaise, which doesn’t include any sugar.

carrot coleslaw

Verdict
A really lovely and easy-to-make salad, that needed the extra dressing. If I had used a sugared mayo, I would have skipped the other sugar. Diabetics could easily substitute sugar with Splenda or equivalent.

We ate it so fast that I missed getting a pic of it on the dinner plate.

You will have to use your own judgment as to when a little one can manage the task of shredding cabbage. I’ve seen toddlers in Africa capably wield a machete. Scary!

And finally, be sure to check out my Where to Next? travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Salad, Side dish, Vegetable, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

