Ripe olive quiche

Lemon and chives Ripe olive quiche mizture

Gracious goodness—a peach of a cookbook, 362pp.
by the Junior League of Macon Georgia
Wimmer Companies, Tennessee, 1995 (revised edition)
Cooking on page 32

Our daughter, Libby, bought this at a peach or pecan orchard somewhere in southern USA. I was with her, but neither of us can remember exactly where or when. Maybe it was in 1999, when my sisters and I, along with most of our kids, took three SUVs and did a 19-day, 4000-mile road trip through about a dozen US states. Now there’s a story

Anyway, this is another Junior League fund-raising cookbook that’s loaded with recipes contributed by members. This page-32 recipe doesn’t list an ‘owner’s name’ so I can’t give credit.

It says it is a great recipe to make ahead and freeze. It can also be baked in a large rectangular tray/pan and be cut into squares.

Ripe olive quiche

Ripe olive quiche

Ingredients
6 eggs
1 1/2 cups ripe olives sliced
1 pint sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoons oregano
1 1/2 cups shredded Swiss cheese
2 tablespoons chives
3/4 teaspoon salt
dash cayenne
dash lemon pepper
dash Worcestershire sauce
pastry for pie crusts

Method
Beat eggs with spoon. Add all remaining ingredients and mix well. Fill uncooked pie shells with mixture (mixture will be slightly thick). Bake at 425°F for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 375°F and continue baking for 25 minutes or until filling is set. Makes 2 pies.

How it played out
A bargain is a funny thing. I was thrilled when I bought a 1.7-kilo jar of Spanish black olives (called ripe olives in the USA) for about $5. I wasn’t so thrilled when I spent almost 40 minutes pitting the olives needed for this recipe. My pitting wasn’t very cleanly done, so I ended up chopping the olives roughly rather than trying to slice them.

Pitting olives Grating cheese Ripe olive quiche

But that was the only challenge with this recipe because I made up time by using store-bought shortcrust pastry that I also got on special. 🙂

The recipe didn’t specify a pie-pan size or whether to use fresh or dried herbs. I opted for 8-inch pans and used fresh chives and dried oregano. The pan size was perfect. I was heavy-handed with  cayenne, lemon and Worcestershire sauce because I love these flavours, and light-handed with the salt. Swiss cheese tastes bland to me, so I used a sharp cheddar instead.

One element in my oven has been out-of-commission since May (thanks to a long wait for parts from the USA), so I have  to use the fan-forced option for everything. I’m still trying to figure best temperatures and timing, so this got done a lot faster than I expected. I did the first 15 minutes at about 410° and then turned the oven down to 300°, but the quiches were done within another 17 minutes.

Verdict
Nice quiche, but I think I would prefer it with stronger olives—maybe kalamata. Served with a fantastic, but simple tomato salad—tomatoes, onions, lime juice, a glug of oil (not much) and a sprinkling of sea salt.

And finally, be sure to check out my Where to Next? travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Eggs, Light meal, Main dish, Pastry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ripe olive quiche

  1. Looks delish, Peggy and love kalamata olives too!
    Always fun to read What’s cooking on page 32!
    Cheers! Joanne

  2. Pingback: Apple sauerkraut | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

