Exotic dried fruit compote

Everyday gourmet: Breakfasts

Everyday gourmet: Breakfasts, 96pp.
by various editors
Parragon Books, Bath, UK, 2010
Cooking on page 32

I have absolutely no memory of how I came to have this cookbook. I don’t remember buying it. There’s no second-hand price on the inside front cover, and no price tag on the back. And I don’t remember it being given to me. It just appeared in one of the many bookcases. Gosh, I love it when that happens!

I wonder if one of my kids bought it while they minded our house and dogs while Poor John and I flitted around Africa for almost a year on the back of an African Trails truck. Our breakfasts on that trip were usually nourishing, but usually basic too.

This book seems to be part of an Everyday gourmet series. This breakfast version leans towards sweet dishes (not my preference) and covers smoothies, juices, fruits, pancakes, bready things and some savoury dishes.

This page 32 recipe is in the chapter titled ‘Healthy start’—but it’s more like a dessert.

Dried fruit compote

Exotic dried fruit compote

Ingredients
115 g/4 oz ready-to-eat dried peaches
85 g/3 oz ready-to-eat dried apricots
55 g/2 oz ready-to-eat dried pineapple chunks
55 g/2 oz ready-to-eat dried mango slices
225 ml/8 fl oz unsweetened clear apple juice
4 tbsp low-fat natural yogurt (optional)

Method
Put the dried fruit into a small saucepan with the apple juice. Bring slowly to the boil, then reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Spoon into serving dishes and top each serving with a tablespoon of yogurt, if desired. Serve immediately.

How it played out
Made a double batch because there was a crowd for Easter weekend. Other than using the cloudy apple juice I had on hand and cutting the dried peaches in half, I made this as written. I wished I had cut all the fruit (except the pineapple which was already diced (into smaller pieces.

Verdict
Nice combo of dried fruits, but way too sweet for me. The yogurt helps to take the edge off. We’ve served it over muesli and even more successfully over vanilla ice cream. Also took it to a morning tea (with toothpicks to serve).

I love savoury breakfasts. In fact, I love savoury everything, so probably won’t make this again unless I need an ice cream topping—and it’s very good at that.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dairy, Dessert, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

