Fettucini alla carbonare

Feeding the flock, 134pp.
compiled by the Springfield PTO
Morris Press, Nebraska, 1990
Cooking on page 32

Suella Maudlin, a friend of my mother’s, was one of the people who helped to compile this book for the Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) in Springfield, Nebraska.

Most junior schools (Kindergarten to year 8) in the USA have a Parent Teacher Association or PTO. The Australian equivalent is the Parents and Citizens Association. In both countries, the aim is to improve and support the school.

Sue was so thrilled to be involved in this project. I remember her talking about it on one of my visits to Nebraska. If I recall correctly, the book was a good little fundraiser for the school. I love the title and cover artwork. Sue gave mum a copy for Christmas in 1990, and I inherited it eight years later. Don’t anyone tell my sisters that I have it.

There are three recipes on page 32, and this one was contributed by a Cinda Craney. I wonder how old her kids are now?

Fettucini alla carbonare

Ingredients
4 tablespoons butter
4 eggs
1/4 cup whipping cream
8 ounces bacon, cut up
1 pound fettucini noodles
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
few grinds pepper
1/4 cup snipped parsley

Method
Let butter, eggs and cream stand at room temperature 2–3 hours. Fry bacon until browned. Drain on paper towels.

Heat an ovenproof dish in a 250°F oven. Add fettucini to large amount of boiling salted water. While pasta cooks, beat together eggs and cream until blended. When pasta is cooked, but still firm, drain in colander. Turn pasta into heated dish; toss with butter. Pour egg mixture over pasta; toss until coated. Then toss in other ingredients and mix well.

How it played out
I am still surprised with myself—I made this as written.

Verdict
A great quick meal on a busy night. I really appreciated the fact that the recipe author reminded people to let the cream, butter and eggs come to room temperature. I also thought the finished dish was a bit on the dry side, so I’d double the cream in future. And use lots more freshly ground pepper.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Light meal, Main dish, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fettucini alla carbonare

  1. Gary Walker says:

    Yum. I’ve only had Pasta Carbonara (as it is known in the USA) a few times. Americans have become so paranoid about raw eggs that restaurants removed it from their menus years ago.

  2. Rhonda says:

    Oooh, yum! Probably my favourite pasta dish.

Leave a Reply

