Bloody Mary mix

Whole food recipes, 260pp.
by Vita-Mix Corporation
Vita-Mix, Cleveland, 2003
Cooking on page 32

My sister, Susan, has had her Vita-Mix blender for six years. She uses the machine a lot, but can’t remember whether she’s ever used this cookbook. And she’s almost positive she’s never used it to make a bloody mary.

After we spent a few days chasing a six-year-old and a super-energetic toddler, the makings for a stiff drink seemed a perfect choice. Thank you page 32.

Bloody Mary mix

Ingredients
1 cup (240 ml) canned tomato juice
1/2 teaspoon lime juice or 1/4 lime, peeled
1/2 rib celery
dash black pepper
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
dash Tabasco sauce
1/2 cup (120 ml) ice cubes

Method
Place all ingredients in Vita-Mix container in order listed. Secure 2-part lid. Select VARIABLE, speed #1. Turn on machine and quickly increase speed to #10, then to HIGH. Run for 1 minute or until smooth. Serve immediately.

How it played out
Made a triple batch. Very easy to make and certainly a whiz in a heavy duty Vita-Mix. That said, I’m sure any old blender or food processor would do the job, but it might take longer.

Verdict
Whaddya mean—serve immediately? Surely not until you’ve added the vodka and a few celery sticks as stirrers, which is exactly what we did. It needed a dash or two of salt too.

I’m in Colombia now and a Bloody Mary would be just the thing. Guess I’ll have to settle for a margarita or a daiquiri. 🙂

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Beverage, Vegetable and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bloody Mary mix

  1. Gary Walker says:

    I’ve been craving a Bloody Mary for months but never have the ingredients on hand when the sudden urge strikes. Except vodka 🙂

    Going to the market on Friday and making note to self to get tomato juice. If it needs salt I will add a generous dash of celery salt… my secret ingredient.

  2. Your loving daughter says:

    My immediate reaction (before reading the “verdict”) was “Where the hell is the vodka?” I’m glad you got that sorted though. You should ask Susan one time about when she doorknocked all of her neighbours trying to find some vodka. From memory I think she wound up with a couple of tablespoons worth

    • leggypeggy says:

      I’m glad you have the same vodka standard as your mother. But I’m curious to know why Susan was so desperate for her ‘shot’ of vodka. What was she making? 🙂

  3. Have to admit, now have the craving too!
    Perhaps if you don’t want a quick drink, you can consider making a Bloody Mary Terrine which comes out GREAT (like you!) too! 🙂
    http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/healthy-living/recipes/lactose-free/bloody-mary-terrine.htm

  4. Robert Henderson says:

    INdeed. Where was the bloody booze. Bloody tea totallers missing the point. Glad you fixed up the ommission.
    But i’d stick to a Gimball if I were you. 50% lime juice cordial and 50% gin served over lots of ice.

  5. Jamie Amar says:

    Been a fan of Bloody Mary mixes too. I just recently tried LAVA Bloody Mary mix and it’s sooo good. Perfect spiciness too imho and love that they use non-gmo tomatoes. I finally got my cravings satisfied lol 😀

  6. Pingback: An icy reception in Alaska | Where to next?

  7. I’ve never heard of Bloody Mary mixes before this – maybe they aren’t too popular in Germany. Actually I always thought Bloody Mary was just tomato juice, worcestershire sauce, tabasco and vodka! So I’ve learned something new 🙂 Made this one for a Bloody Mary mix chicken recipe which turned out great – next time I’ll try it with vodka, of course LOL And yeah, I added salt, because my tomato juice didn’t have salt. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
    Made this for Culinary Quest 2016 / New York for team IHπ

Leave a Reply

