Crab spinach fondue

Colorado Cache Cookbook, 264pp.
The Junior League of Denver, Colorado, 1983 (10th printing)
Cooking on page 32

There are Junior Leagues all over the USA, the UK, Mexico and Canada. These are educational and charitable women’s organisations. Members volunteer in their communities, and money earned from fund-raising is spent on community projects.

This cookbook was a fund-raiser, but I bought it at a second-hand bookstore, so they never benefited from my purchase. Sorry.

Recipes were submitted by Denver’s Junior Leaguers. Apparently 2800 recipes were submitted, of which 700 appear in the book. Authors of recipes are not identified. Ann Douden did about 30 line drawings of the Denver area for the book.

Page 32 has two recipes for dips. The second one is a meat dip, and I might try it when I run out of ideas, although the words meat and dip don’t go together for me.

Recipe—Crab spinach fondue

Ingredients
2 10-ounce packages, frozen chopped spinach, defrosted
1 bunch green onions, thinly sliced
1/4 pound butter
8 ounces crabmeat
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
dash of salt
dash of pepper
dash of Tabasco sauce

Method
Squeeze all liquid from chopped spinach. Sauté onions in butter and mix with rest of ingredients. Serve warm in a fondue pot. Dip with corn chips or crackers.

How it played out
I never have garlic powder on hand, so sautéed the green onions with a clove of crushed garlic. But speaking of onions, I will step on my soapbox. How big is a bunch of green onions? I have a general idea, but a measurement by weight or in cups or parts of cups (loose or packed?) would be much more helpful. I’m not taking a swipe at this particular cookbook, because the offence occurs often. Also, I used a 180-gram tin of crab (or about 6 ounces). And as an aside, Americans defrost spinach, but Aussies thaw it.

Verdict
I can’t, for the life of me, figure out why they called this a fondue. I think fondue implies something a little runny or dribbly—something that drips when it’s dipped into. This was way too thick for that. I took it to Friday night drinks. Everyone enjoyed it with chips and celery sticks, but it’s not likely to make it on to my repeat list.

Also, be sure to check the latest at my travel blog.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Appetiser, Cheese, Seafood, Vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crab spinach fondue

  1. Pingback: Apple sauerkraut | What's cooking on page 32

Leave a Reply

