Avocado frittata

The Complete Avocado Cookbook, 96 pp.
by Christine Heaslip
Bay Cookery Collection, about 1999
Page 32 (including photo)

This cookbook came to me a couple of weeks ago through a friend of a friend. Lucky me that it didn’t sell at a garage sale. The title page is signed and dated by the author in 1999 at Tilba Tilba, New South Wales, which is a quaint village on Australia’s South Coast. It’s about an hour’s drive south of Rosedale, so I promise to go there one day and then tell you about it.

I was surprised to find that I have had two different editions of this cookbook. But quite a while ago, I gave my first copy to Emma, an avocado fan and one of our former exchange students. Since getting this most recent copy, I have seen two other editions in second-hand bookshops. Turns out the very first edition was released in 1984.

This recipe is from the edition I currently have and is from page 32. I’ll cook from page 32 in Emma’s copy sometime soon, and let you know about that too.

Recipe—Avocado Frittata

This Italian-style open omelette is a delicious light dinner, served with a salad. You can vary the toppings but always make sure that, whichever you choose, they cover the avocado before it goes under the grill.

Ingredients
3 eggs
pinch of salt
pinch of cracked black pepper
2 heaped teaspoons fresh chopped herbs (marjoram, thyme, basil, oregano, chervil)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 large avocado, sliced
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Method
Whisk the eggs until just combined, taking care not to overbeat. Stir in the salt, pepper and 1 teaspoon of the herbs. Heat the oil in a small frying pan (16 cm wide, if you have one) then reduce the temperature and add the egg mixture. Tilt the pan as the frittata sets and allow the egg mixture to run underneath.

As the frittata starts to set, lay the avocado slices over the top, sprinkle with the remaining herbs and top with grated cheese (making sure all the avocado is covered). Place under a hot grill for 1–2 minutes, or until the cheese has lightly browned and the frittata puffed. Loosen the edges with a spatula and slide onto a serving plate.

Serves 1 (or 2 as a light meal).

avocado frittata

How it played out
The hardest thing about this recipe was finding the right pan. I used my trusty little cast iron pan, which worked a treat. I followed the recipe, using home-grown thyme, basil, oregano and chives, and all of a small avocado. I’m impatient, so the main photo was taken just before I popped it under the grill.

Verdict
Great quick meal! I will make this often. In fact, the whole book is loaded with tempting recipes. Buy one if you can find a copy.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Light meal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

