Tomato and cucumber juice

Cookbook
Joy of Cooking, pp. 849
by Irma Rombauer and Marion Rombauer Becker
The Bobbs-Merrill Company, Indianapolis, 1964 (first published 1931)
Cooking on page 32

I have two copies of the Joy of Cooking. My older edition is missing its cover and a few pages, and is held together with rubber bands. My cousin gave it to me many years ago. It’s wrapped in a plastic bag and lives at the beach house where it can disintegrate gracefully.

I’m not sure when/how I came to have the one I cooked from today. I’m guessing I bought it at a second-hand bookshop, as $10 is scribbled in pencil on the inside front cover. The short introduction by Marion Rombauer Becker notes that it is the first ‘revised’ edition for which her mother, Irma, was not alive to contribute. 😦

Page 32 in this edition introduces a section called ‘About juices and fruit beverages’. There are seven recipes on the page: fresh tomato juice, canned tomato juice, chilled tomato cream, orange and tomato juice, sauerkraut juice, clam juice and the one I made—tomato and cucumber juice.

Recipe—Tomato and Cucumber Juice

Ingredients and Method
4 servings

Combine in a shaker:
2 cups tomato juice
2 tablespoons salad oil
1 tablespoon vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon paprika
(1/4 teaspoon basil)

Peel, seed, grate and add:
1 cucumber
1/2 cup cracked ice

How it played out
I made this as written. Good grief, what is there to change? Although I suppose you could skip the salad oil. What is salad oil anyway? Actually I looked it up and it just means vegetable oil. What I didn’t expect to find was many references to the salad oil scandal. What an amazing scam that was.

Lebanese cucumbers in Aussie parlance. What do you call them?

But back to the tomato and cucumber juice. Four of us tried it—even though the recipe is not really enough for four full serves—and we all thought it was delicious. I will be adding this recipe to Food.com and provide a link when it has been published.

I suppose the reference to basil (in parentheses) means that ingredient is optional. I added it, and wouldn’t think of not adding it. I love basil, and it goes so well with tomatoes.

I used what we, in Australia, call a Lebanese cucumber. I didn’t bother to peel it, but I did de-seed it. What do you call this cucumber in your part of the world?

The verdict
Wonderful juice. Refreshing and full of flavour, although little bits of cucumber can get stuck in your teeth. 🙂

I can imagine adding a slug of vodka.

About leggypeggy

Intrepid overland traveller, keen photographer, avid cook—known to jump out of airplanes and do other silly things. Do not act my age.
This entry was posted in Beverage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tomato and cucumber juice

  1. Kathy says:

    Gosh those just look like the regular cucs we buy and grow in our gardens. I’m of no help! I have that cookbook. It was a shower gift before my wedding (many yrs ago!). I don’t cook from it very much. There is a peanut butter cookie recipe in there that I love and I also use it to look up conversions, hard-boiled eggs, etc…. basics. I think I’ll have to give that recipe a go!

    • leggypeggy says:

      I’ll have to check out that peanut butter cookie recipe. What page is it on? And, if you try it, drop back and let me know what you think of the tomato and cucumber juice.

  2. Kathy says:

    In my book, it is on pg 709. I think we must have different editions though, because my pg 32 doesn’t have the tomato & cucumber juice recipe.The peanut butter cookie recipe is the one I used to make with my mom when I was young. In my opinion, it can’t be beat! I’ll let you know if I try the juice. FYI – my daughter and I dug out a few cookbooks and looked on pg 32 in each – just for fun. 🙂

    • leggypeggy says:

      It’s amazing how cookbooks get shifted around from one edition to the next, especially in large books. My page 709 has recipes for dessert sauces. There’s a peanut butter cookie recipe on page 658.
      And, yes, it is rather fun to focus on a single page and see what you find.

  3. Sy S. says:

    Hello,
    The recipe in my 1975 addition of Joy of Cooking is on page 43 and named TOMATO JUICE AND CUCUMBER. Here in Metro New York City we call the cucumbers pictured, “Hot House Cucumbers.” This drink looks great for a hot summer day and spritzed with a little hot tobacco sauce “Bloody Mary Style.”

    Sy S.
    Metro NYC

  4. Sy S. says:

    P.S. I bought today Persian Cucumbers which is 1/3 the size of the big “Hot House Cucumbers”…. perhaps that is what you used (Lebanese Cucumbers)… and your photo looks more like a Persian Cucumber. I will be making a variation of the recipe you posted above…
    Sy S.

    • leggypeggy says:

      Another huge thanks to you Sy. I think your hot-house cucumbers must be our telegraph cucumbers, and your Persians must be our Lebanese. Our Lebanese cukes are small — just as you described. This is wonderful information.

  5. Em aka Fluffy says:

    As I did mention before… I am still a little disappointed you did not choose the sauerkraut juice… sounded yummy though!!! Peg I love your blog so much! see you next week in Perth 🙂

  6. Sy S. says:

    Hi,
    Here is “My Take” on your Tomato and Cucumber Juice recipe, which is very good. However, for my personal taste, I have created a variation and posted on Food dot com (and a photo);
    “Tomato, Cucumber and Clam Juice Spiced Up”
    http://tinyurl.com/8263gng

    Thanks,
    Sy S.

  7. Sy S. says:

    Hi,
    Actually the clam juice does not have a strong taste and is masked by the tomato juice and spices… so doing without should be fine. I had made your recipe and mine by leaving the skin of the cucumber on. With the ice and small bits of cucumber, it was a little hard to swallow.. needed to chew. So next time I just will peel the skin off the cucumbers and grate… many ways to skin a cucumber/tomato (not our furry friends). Finally, I love sauerkraut and Ema aka Fluffy’s suggestion of making sauerkraut juice interests me…

    Sy S.

  8. leggypeggy says:

    Nice to know about the clam juice. My cukes were very thin-skinned so that didn’t matter. But I promise to post the sauerkraut juice recipe when I get home to that cookbook again.

  9. linkyh says:

    Hi LP! I, too, have that cookbook. My daughter has my mom’s older version. Mine is in a box somewhere waiting for me to unpack from our recent move. When I met my DH he was pining for the peanut butter cookies that his mom used to make. I found the version you guys are talking about and he -and we all – love them. I also love the cuke/tomato drink – I like the crunchy bits of cuke. I used 1/2 of a mini “English” cute for a small individual can of tomato juice. I used basil from my garden. 5 stars!!

    PS Try the Sacher Torte recipe in the Joy of Cooking!

Leave a Reply

